Statistics and Data Databases

Database Description Coverage More Info
American FactFinder

Official government source for Census 2010 and Census 2000 data.

2000-present more info
BizMiner

BizMiner offers industry financial analysis benchmarks for over 5,000 lines of business and industry market trends on thousands more.

Current more info
Bureau of Justice Statistics

Bureau of Justice Statistics collects, analyzes,  and publishes nformation on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government.

Varies more info
Bureau of Labor Statistics

Principal fact-finding agency for labor economics and statistics.

Varies more info
CenStats

CenStats provides access to several popular Census Bureau databases, including: Building Permits, County Business Patterns, International Trade Data, and much more.

1990-present more info
Census of Population and Housing

Detailed and sample socioeconomic and demographic data from the 1990 census of population and housing summary tape files.

1790-2010 more info
Compustat

Available only in Raley Hall computer labs.  Provides financial and market data covering publicly traded companies. Hundreds of data items, ratios and concepts are included.

Varies more info
County and City Data Book

Provides access to the 1944 through 2000 County and City Data Books.

1944-2000 more info
County Business Patterns

An annual series that provides subnational economic data by industry.

1998-2010 more info
Current Population Survey

The Current Population Survey (CPS) is a monthly survey of about 50,000 households conducted by the Bureau of the Census for the Bureau of Labor Statistics.

Present more info
Economic Census

The economic census provides a detailed portrait of the United States' economy once every five years, from the national to the local level.

1997-2007 more info
EnviroFacts

The Envirofacts Multisystem Query integrates information from a variety of databases and includes latitude and longitude information.

2007-present more info
Global Development Finance

This edition of GDF presents reported or estimated data on the total external debt of all low-and middle-income countries.

1970-present more info
IBISWorld

IBISWorld’s industry research reports offer the very latest content on every U.S. industry.

2010-present more info
ICPSR

ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research) offers more than 500,000 digital files containing social science research data.

1940-present more info
Journal Citation Reports

Journal Citation Reports® allows you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from over 7,500 scholarly and technical journals from more than 3,300 publishers.

2004-present more info
Mergent Archives

Mergent Archives provides essential political, economic and commercial information for evaluating risks and opportunities on over 130 countries worldwide.

2001-present more info
National Center for Education Statistics

The primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education in the U.S. and other nations.

1995-present more info
National Center for Health Statistics

The mission of the National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) is to provide statistical information that will guide actions and policies to improve the health of the American people.

1990-present more info
Occupational Outlook Handbook

Specifics on various jobs and careers, including working conditions, educational or training requirements, pay, and future outlook.

2010-20 projections and the current Occupational Outlook Handbook more info
Roper Center for Public Opinion Research

The Roper Center archives datasets from thousands of surveys with national adult, state, foreign, and special subpopulation samples.

1935-present more info
Statista

Statista is a statistics portal that integrates data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets on over 60,000 topics from 18,000 sources.

Current more info
Statistical Abstract of the U.S.

The Statistical Abstract of the United States is a one-volume, comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.

Coverage varies more info
Vital Statistics on American Politics

Over 230 tables and figures devoted to key subject areas such as elections and political parties, public opinion and voting, the media, and much more.

2011-2012 more info
World Development Indicators

The World Development Indicators are compiled from officially-recognized international sources providing 331 indicators, from agriculute to urban development, covering 209 countries.

1960-present more info
World Factbook

The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.

Current more info