Text Only | Comments/Suggestions | View Your Record | Search Site | Appalnet Appalachian State University

Research Guides: Instructional Materials Center (IMC)

K-12 Education Resources:

Electronic Resources
(Many of the library's journal article indexes and databases require that you be a registered ASU student in order to access them.) Read more

Children's Catalog - Wilson Web
Children's Catalog is a selective annotated list of fiction and nonfiction books and magazines for children from preschool through sixth grade, along with review sources and other professional aids.

EBSCO Animals - EBSCOhost
Offers information on a variety of topics relating to animals. The database consists of indexing, abstracts, and full text records describing the nature and habitat of familiar animals.

MAS Ultra School Edition - EBSCOhost
Provides full text from more than 550 popular general interest and current events publications covering general reference, health, science, and other areas.

Middle Search Plus - EBSCOhost
Full text magazines covering general topics appropriate for middle and jr. high school students.

Primary Search - EBSCOhost
Contains full text for more than 60 popular, elementary school magazines. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 100 magazines. Full text is also available for over 100 student pamphlets.

Horn Book Guide Online - The Horn Book Guide Online is searchable by author, illustrator, title, subject, and bibliographic data, as well as by rating assigned the book in the original Horn Book review.

Children's Literature Comprehensive Database - CLCD contains more contains more than 900,000 catalog records and over 150,000 critical reviews of children's books, ranging from the earliest baby board books to novels and nonfiction for young adults.

s

K-12 Web Sites

American School Directory
http://www.asd.com/
Guide to over 100,000 K-12 Schools, providing standardized information about each school and a link to each school's web site, if available. (subscription required)

ArtNC
http://www.ncmoa.org/artnc/
Developed and maintained by the North Carolina Musrum of Art.

Chapbook
http://www.nclaonline.org/css/
The Children's Services Section of NCLA presents this link to Chapbook, a quarterly newsletter.

Developing Education Standards
http://edstandards.org/Standards.html
A comprehensive directory of national, state and local educational standards.

EduHound
http://www.eduhound.com/
A K-12 resource directory for educators, students and parents.

The Educator's Reference Desk
http://www.eduref.org/
This collection contains more than 2000 unique lesson plans which were written and submitted by teachers from all over the United States and the world. These lesson plans are also included in GEM, which links to over 25,000 online education resources.

Learn North Carolina
http://www.learnnc.org/
A program of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill School of Education. It is a statewide network of educators using the power of the Internet to improve K-12 education in North Carolina. This website offers resources for K-12 classroom instruction and teacher professional development, all tied to the North Carolina Standard Course of Study.

North Carolina Public Schools InfoWeb
http://www.dpi.state.nc.us/
The North Carolina Department of Public Instruction's website provides curriculum resources, news, reports and employment information.

North Carolina Public Schools Reports & Statistics
http://www.dip.state.nc.us/reportstats.html
Statistics on all aspects of elementary and secondary schools in North Carolina.

Schoolbug
http://www.schoolbug.org
Iinformation on any public school in the United States.

Content Update March, 2006

218 College Street | P.O. Box 32026 | Boone, NC 28608-2026 Tel: (828) 262-2186
Disclaimer
Last update of this page June 30, 2008 10:32 am