Choral Music
A Brief Guide to Library Resources
BROWSING--Useful class numbers.
- ML1500 = History of choral music
- MT875 = Choral singing
For music in the A.S.U. Music Library:
- 76 & 79 = Ensembles of solo voices, secular and sacred
- 82 = Masses
- 86 = Secular choruses (part-songs, madrigals, etc.)
- 87 = Sacred choruses
- 88 = Large sacred choral works
- 89 = Large secular choral works
FINDING INFORMATION about choral music and genres:
Do a SUBJECT search in WNCLN's Library Catalog , using singular form of term.
Consult the indexes and bibliography on choral music in major periodicals in the Reference Collection. Music Ref ML 128 .C48 C45 (and C451 and C5 1982)
FINDING PRINTED MUSIC or RECORDINGS:
Perform a SUBJECT search in WNCLN's Library Catalog using an authorized term or phrase from Library of Congress Subject Headings.
- Choruses
- Sacred choruses
- Madrigals
FINDING A SPECIFIC WORK:
Options in WNCLN's Library Catalog :
- Do a TITLE search for a distinctive title; use original language if known, and ignore initial articles.
- Do an AUTHOR search under composer's last name, first name. Arrangement of a composer's works is by UNIFORM TITLE; you can jump to the title you need (distinctive title, or form) or browse through the list and follow the cross-references.
BASIC REFERENCE TOOLS
- DeVenney, David P. American Choral Music Since 1920: An Annotated Guide. (Stacks ML 128 .C48 D45 1993)
- May, James D. Avant-Garde Choral Music: An Annotated Bibliography. (Ref. ML 128 .C48 M43)
- White, J. Perry. Twentieth-Century Choral Music: An Annotated Bibliography of Music Suitable for Use by High School Choirs, 2nd ed. (Ref. ML 128 .C48 W53 1990)
- White, Evelyn Davidson. Choral Music by African American Composers. (Ref. ML 128 .C48 W5 1996)
- Tiemstra, Suzanne Spicer. The Choral Music of Latin America: A Guide to Compositions and Research. (Ref. ML 128 .C48 T5 1992)
- Burnsworth, C. C. Choral Music for Women's Voices: An Annotated Bibliography of Recommended Works. (Ref. ML 128 .C48 B87)
- Tortolano, William. Original Music for Men's Voices: A Selected Bibliography, 2nd ed. (Ref. ML 128 .C48 T66 1981)
- Evans, M.R. Sacred Cantatas: An Annotated Bibliography, 1960-1979. (Ref. ML 128 .C15 E9 1982)
- Laster, James. Catalogue of Choral Music Arranged in Biblical Order. (Ref. ML 128 .C54 L4 1996)
- Jeffers, Ron. Translations and Annotations of the Choral Repertoire v. 1: Sacred Latin texts. (Ref. ML 54.8 .J34 1988)
- The Choral Journal: An Index to Volumes 1-18 [and 19-32]. (Ref. ML 128 .C48 C45 [and C451])
- Whitten, Lynn. A Classified, Annotated Bibliography of Articles Related to Choral Music in Five Major Periodicals Through 1980. (Ref. ML 128 .C48 C5 1982)
- Anderson. Michael J. A Classified Index of American Doctoral Dissertations and Dissertation Projects on Choral Music Completed or Currently in Progress Through 1989. (Ref. ML 128 .C48 A53 1990)
JOURNALS
INTERNET RESOURCE:
- ChoralNet
- Indiana University School of Music Library home page
- MUSICA A huge database of information about choral music and choral music composers.
