General Reference Sources for Music Research: A Finding List
This list is a mere introduction to a large universe of sources. Consult the guides for other useful titles. These sources are located in BELK LIBRARY REFERENCE unless otherwise noted.
- GUIDES
- Balay, R. Guide to Reference Books, 11th ed. (Ready Ref Z 1035.1 .G89 1996, also Music Ref.)
- Mixter, K. General Bibliography for Music Research, 3rd ed. (Music Ref ML 113 .M595 G4 1996)
- INDEXES AND ABSTRACTS
- Journal articles, dissertations, and research reports
- Citations
- Newspapers
- Newspaper Source
- Indexes of individual newspapers, especially the New York Times Index
- Bibliographies
- Bestermann, T. A World Bibliography of Bibliographies. (Ref Z 1002 .B5685)
- Book reviews
- Book Review Index (Literary Reference, on back left wall of area) Note "Master Cumulation 1965-1984."
- Book Review Diges t (Literary Reference)
- Tests (Ref Table 4, plus 2nd copy in IMC Ref)
- Tests in Print
- Mental Measurements Yearbook, all volumes
- BIBLIOGRAPHIES AND CATALOGS
- Trade and national bibliographies
- Books in Print; Subject Guide to Books in Print (Literary Reference, around corner from phone books) Forthcoming Books
- Ulrich's International Periodical Directory (Ready Ref Z 6941 .U5)
- Foreign publications: A British trade bibliography, Whitaker's Books in Print, is near BIP; a few for other countries are shelved in the Reference Stacks.
- Union catalogs of library holdings
- Books: National Union Catalog, including Pre-1956 Imprints and Books: Subjects (At back of Reference Stacks, to the left of law reporters)
- Journals: Union List of Serials, for pre-1950 titles, and New Serials Titles , for titles starting after 1950 (Ask at ILL Office)
- Library catalogs
- Nelson, B. A Guide to Published Library Catalogs. (Ref Z 710 .N44)
- Trade and national bibliographies
- ACRONYMS AND ABBREVIATIONS
- Acronyms, Initialisms, and Abbreviations Dictionary (Ready Ref P 365 .A3)
- Periodical Title Abbreviations (Ready Ref Z 6945 .A2 P47)
- QUOTATIONS
- Reference tools for tracking down the sources of quotations, and for finding quotations appropriate for specific purposes or on a particular topic, are located in Ref PN 6080 - PN 6084.
- GLOSSARY OF TERMS
- A.L.A. Glossary of Library and Information Science. (Ref Z 1006 .A48 1983)
