Musicology
Basic Study and Reference
- Guides to and handbooks of the discipline.
- Stevens. Musicology, A Practical Guide. Mus Stacks ML 3797 .S8
- Harrison, Hood, Palisca. Musicology. Mus Stacks ML 3797 .H27 M9
- Spiess. Historical Musicology: A Reference Manual for Research in Music. Mus Stacks ML 3797 .S7
- Dahlhaus. Foundations of Music History. Mus Stacks ML 3797 .D2313 1983
- Recent discussions about the field
- Middleton. Studying Popular Music. Mus Stacks ML 3470 .M5 1990
- Bergeron & Bohlman. Disciplining Music: Music and Its Canons. Mus Stacks ML 3797.1 .D5 1992
- Solie. Musicology and Difference: Gender and Sexuality in Music Scholarship. Mus Stacks ML 3838 .M96 1993
- Lang. Musicology and Performance. Mus Stacks ML 60 .L2362 1997
- Bibliographies of the literature.
- Duckles. Music Reference and Research Materials, 5th ed. Mus Ref ML 113 .D83 1997
- Damschroder/Williams. Music theory from Zarlino to Schenker: a bibliography and guide. Mus Ref ML128.T5 D27 1990
- Indexes to musicological publications.
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
- International Index to Music Periodicals
- Music Index. (printed; in Periodicals Section)
- Adkins and Dickinson. Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology. Mus Ref ML 128 .M8 A4 1984. Also available as DDM-Online
- Histories of music.
- Various volumes in the Norton Introduction to Music History. Especially useful are the histories of specific periods by Atlas, Downs, Plantinga, Morgan and Hoppin .
- The New Oxford History of Music. Mus Stacks ML 160 .N44
- Prentice-Hall History of Music Series. Excellent shorter surveys by Seay, H.M. Brown, Palisca, Pauly, Longyear, Salzman, Hitchcock, Nettl, and Malm.
- For contemporary art music, see: Slonimsky. Music Since 1900, 6th ed. Mus Stacks ML 197 .S634 2001
- Sources.
- International Inventory of Musical Sources = Repertoire International des Sources Musicales = RISM. Mus Ref ML 113 .I6
Ser. A: Single pieces, arranged by composer. Ser B: Individual catalogues of groups of self-contained sources. - Brown. Instrumental Music Printed Before 1600: A Bibliography. Mus Ref ML 128 .I65 B77
- The British Union Catalogue of Early Music before the Year 1801. Mus Ref ML 116 .B7
- Bibliographical Inventory to the Early Music in the Newberry Library. Mus Ref Oversize ML 136 .C5 N43
- Resources of American Music History: A Directory of Source Materials from Colonial Times to World War II. Mus Ref ML 120 .U5 R47
- International Inventory of Musical Sources = Repertoire International des Sources Musicales = RISM. Mus Ref ML 113 .I6
- Translations of primary sources of music history.
- Strunk. Source Readings in Music History. Mus Stacks ML 160 .S89 1965
- Rowen. Music through Sources and Documents. Mus Stacks ML 160 .R88
- Weiss and Taruskin. Music in the Western World: A History in Documents. Mus Stacks ML 160 .M865 1984
- Slonimsky. Lexicon of Musical Invective, 2nd ed. Mus Stacks ML 3785 .S5 1965
- Specialized tools.
- Historical notation.
- Apel. Notation of Polyphonic Music, 900-1600. Mus Stacks ML 431 .A6 1949
- Parrish. Notation of Medieval Music. Mus Stacks ML 431 .P37 1978
- Analysis.
- LaRue. Guidelines for Style Analysis. Mus Stacks MT 6 .L146 G8
- Editing.
- Caldwell. Editing Early Music. Mus Stacks ML 63 .C29 1985
- Performance practice.
- Jackson. Performance Practice, Medieval to Contemporary: A Bibliographic Guide. Mus Ref ML 128 .P235 J3 1988
- Also consult the books listed in WNCLN's Library Catalog under the subject headings:
- "Music--Performance," "Music--Interpretation (Phrasing, dynamics, etc.),"
- "Embellishment (Music)" for musical ornamentation
- Music printing.
- Krummel and Sadie. Music Printing and Publishing. Mus Ref ML 112 .M876 1990
- Krummel. Guide for Dating Early Published Music. Mus Stacks ML 111 .K78
- Historical notation.
- Musicological journals at A.S.U.
- American Music
- American Musicological Society. Journal (JAMS)
- Current Musicology
- Music and Letters
- Music Review
- Musical Quarterly
- Nineteenth-Century Music
- Opera Quarterly
- Internet Resources
