Opera and Musical Theater
A Brief Guide to Library Resources
- Useful class numbers for browsing :
- 91.7 = Operas, vocal scores
- 93.7 = Musicals, vocal scores
- ML 1700 = History of dramatic music
- MT 955 = Production of operas
- Ref. ML 102. O6 = Dictionaries of opera
- Finding information about these genres:
- Do a SUBJECT search in WNCLN's Library Catalog , using singular form of term.
- Opera
- Operetta
- Musicals--History and criticism
- Do a SUBJECT search in WNCLN's Library Catalog , using singular form of term.
- Finding printed music and recordings :
- Use plural forms for SUBJECT search in WNCLN's Library Catalog .
- Operas
- Musicals
- Librettos
- Use plural forms for SUBJECT search in WNCLN's Library Catalog .
- Finding a specific work :
- Do a TITLE search in WNCLN's Library Catalog for the title; convert that to a WORD search to increase the number of retrievals.
- Use original language if known. Ignore initial articles: "Traviata," not "La Traviata."
- Stories, plots:
- Kobbe, Gustav. Kobbe's Complete Opera Book. Ref MT 95 .K52 1954
- Ewen, David. Complete Book of the American Musical Theater. Stacks ML 1711 .E9 1959
- Lubbock, M. H. The Complete Book of Light Opera. Stacks MT 95 .L85 1963
- Ganzl and Lamb. Ganzl's Book of the Musical Theatre. Stacks MT 95 .G2 1989
- Note: A large selection of opera plot books can be found in MT 95.
- Production information:
- Eaton, Quaintance. Opera Production: A Handbook. Ref. MT 955 .E25 (Note: Library does not own Opera Production II.)
- Lucha-Burns, Carol. Musical Notes: A Practical Guide to Staffing and Staging Standards of the American Musical Theater. Ref. MT 955 .L8 1986
- Lynch, R. C. Musicals! A Directory of Musical Properties Available for Production. Ref. MT 955 .L9 1984
- Dictionaries and encyclopedias:
- Moore, Frank L. Crowell's Handbook of World Opera. Ref ML 102 .O6 M6 1974
- Green, Stanley. Encyclopaedia of the Musical Theater. Ref ML 102 .M88 G7
- The New Grove Dictionary of Opera. (4 v.) Ref. ML 102 .O6 N5 1992
- Warrack, J. & E. West. The Oxford Dictionary of Opera. Ref ML 102 .O6 W37 1992
- Ganzl, Kurt. Encyclopedia of the Musical Theatre. Ref ML 102 .M88 G3 1994
- Hischak, Thomas S. Stage It With Music: An Encyclopedic Guide to the American Musical Theatre. Ref. ML 102 .M88 H6 1993
- Hischak, Thomas S. The American Musical Theatre Song Encyclopedia. Ref. ML 102 .M88 H59 1995
- Wlaschin, Ken. Opera on Screen: A Guide to 100 years of Films and Videos Featuring Operas, Opera Singers and Operettas. Ref. ML 102 .O6 W55 1997
- Journals at A.S.U.
- Opera News
- Opera Quarterly
- Internet Resource
