Music Therapy: A Brief Guide to Library Resources
BROWSING--Useful class numbers.
For books:
- ML 3919-ML 3920 = Music therapy
- ML 3830-ML 3838 = Psychology of music
For music in the A.S.U. Music Library:
- 71 = General folk song collections
- 71.2 = Popular song collections
- 71.3-73.89 = Folk songs from specific areas and occupations
- 73.9-73.99 = Songs for children; school music
- 74.5 = Catches, rounds
- 85 = Hymnals
NOTE: To find a specific song requested by a client, use one of the following indexes to song collections:
- DeCharms and Breed. Songs in Collections: An Index. Ref ML 128 .S3 D37
- Sears, Minnie. Song Index. [use main section & suppl.] Ref ML 128 .S3 S31 1966
- Havlice, Patricia. Popular Song Index. [use all 4 volumes] Ref ML 128 .S3 H4
For music and books on music for children in the Instructional Materials Center (Belk Library, top floor):
- 780-789 = music in the Dewey Decimal classification system
For books in Belk Library:
- Books in the field of psychology are classed in BF, on medicine in R. The most effective method for finding these is to perform SUBJECT searches in the Library Catalog .
FINDING INFORMATION about music therapy.
Books
- Do a SUBJECT search in the Library Catalog on phrase "Music therapy."
- Other useful phrases for SUBJECT searches can be found by looking in Library of Congress Subject Headings, a thesaurus of controlled=vocabulary terms. It is the 4-volume red book on the Index Table near the public terminals.
Articles
- From the A.S.U. Libraries home page , select "Databases and Periodical Article Indexes--by title." Depending upon your topic, the following databases may be useful:
- PyschINFO International
- Index of Music Periodicals
- ERIC (for special education)
- CINAHL (for nursing and allied health fields)
- Medline Medical Abstracts
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
- Note that several of these services provide a thesaurus—a list of controlled-vocabulary terms and phrases that are precise descriptions of particular narrow subjects. Use these thesauri as you are deciding what terms to search, or search by KEYWORD to find one article, and then search with the controlled subject terms that appear in the record you have identified.
BASIC REFERENCE TOOLS
-
C.A.I.R.S.S. for Music Database [Computer Assisted Information Retrieval Service System for Music] (produced by the Institute for Music Research, University of Texas, San Antonio) http://www.lib.utsa.edu/Catalogs/ucat_telnet.html
This database with special focus on music education, music therapy, the psychology and physiology of music, and music and medicine, is available on the World Wide Web. From the Music Library home page, click on "Electronic Resources," and choose CAIRSS for Music Database. - "DSM-IV" ( Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders )
Music Ref. RC 455.2 .C4 D54 1994
- "APA Manual" ( Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association ) Music Ref. BF 76.7 .P83 1994
JOURNALS
- Journal of Music Therapy (journal of the former National Association for Music Therapy, now the American Music Therapy Association.)
- Music Therapy (New York) (journal of the former American Association for Music Therapy.)
- Music Therapy Perspectives
INTERNET SOURCES
**A final note, and a general principle to remember about libraries: If you do not find what you are looking for, ASK for assistance
