Flash Fiction Contest Winners

photo of winners

Congratulations to our Flash Fiction Contest Winners!

Librarian Geri Purpur, Jesse Oates, Matt Paden, University Librarian Dr. Mary Reichel, Librarian Amanda Bird, Eric Spivey & Dr. Mary Reichel

First place was awarded to Jesse Oates for “The Book.”  The Book, an interesting and quick tale about people and their unique relationships with books, was chosen as the winner for its well-crafted realism and descriptive language.  Oates received a $150.00 University Book store gift certificate.

Second place was awarded to Eric Spivey for “Shards.” Spivey received a $100.00 University Book Store gift certificate.

Third place was awarded to Matt Paden for “Partisan Extremis.”  Paden received a $50.00 University Book Store gift certificate.


This was the second annual Flash Fiction Contest sponsored by the Belk Library and Information Commons.

Add new comment

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.
This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.