Community borrowers and Appalachian State University alumni must have a valid library card to check out materials from Belk Library.
Residents of North Carolina or part-time residents who own property are eligible for a library card. You must be 18 years or older and live in the following counties:
Appalachian State University alumni, regardless of place of residence are also eligible.
The following are not eligible:
- Elementary and high school students
- Dependents of Appalachian State University employees
- Appalachian State University students while enrolled
Proof of eligibility
Residents or part-time residents of North Carolina must do one of the following:
- Present a valid North Carolina driver's license (or valid North Carolina state-issued picture ID).
- Present a valid driver's license (or valid state-issued picture ID) and a tax bill for property in one of the counties listed above.
Alumni must present a valid driver's license (or valid state-issued picture ID) and verify alumni status in the ASU Alumni Directory .
In addition, you must have a valid email address to receive notifications from the library.
Stop by the Library Service Desk on the main floor of Belk Library and speak with a staff member. We approve cards during regular operating hours.
The cost of the card is $10 annually.
The card provides borrowing privileges for:
- Browsing Collection
- Main Stacks
- Movies Collection
- Instructional Materials Center (IMC)
- Appalachian Collection Stacks
- Music Library Stacks
- Government Documents
It does not include the following services:
- ABC Express
- Booking a group study room or viewing room
- Interlibrary Loan
- Music Library sound recordings
- State-adopted textbooks from the IMC
- Remote access to databases
- Course reserves
ID required for all transactions: You must present your Community Borrowers Card at the Library Service Desk for all transactions.
Responsibility: The person to whom the card is issued is responsible for its use or misuse. You are also responsible for a lost or stolen card until it is reported to a staff member at the Library Service Desk.
Lost or stolen card: If your card is lost or stolen, report it immediately. You may get a replacement card in person at the Library Service Desk.
See also borrowing privileges  for community members (including alumni).
Fines and notices
Fines for most collections are $0.20 per day for each item. Fines for videos and DVDs are $0.50 per day for each item. Recalled items accrue higher fines per day. See our fines and fees  page for more information. As a courtesy, three overdue notices are sent via email. A block is placed on any cardholder owing $25 or more.
No fines are assessed if items are returned within the grace period. If items are returned after the grace period, fines are retroactive to the first overdue day.
Cardholders are responsible for paying overdue fines and replacement costs for lost or damaged materials. Unpaid fines are transferred to the University Cashier's Office for collection.
For questions or additional information, please contact the Library Service Desk.
P.O. Box 32026
Boone, NC 28608-2026
You may also contact Jason Stamper, Circulation Services Manager, by email: firstname.lastname@example.org