Text Only | Comments/Suggestions | View Your Record | Search Site | Appalnet Appalachian State University

Research Guide for Art


Databases & Articles (opens in a new window)

Background Information

(General and Subject Encyclopedias)

American Art Directory
ASU REF  N50.A54 2003-04
Provides references to art museums, art libraries, art organizations, art schools, and corporate art holdings in the nited States and Canada.

Artist's Resource
ASU REF N8600.C49 1999
"the Watson-Guptill guide to academic programs, artists' colonies and artist-in-residence programs, conferences, and workshops."

The Dictionary of Art
ASU REF N31.D5 1996
A thirty-four volume set continued by The Grove Dictionary of Art Online .

A Dictionary of Art Titles : the origins of the names and titles of 3,000 works of art
ASU REF N33.R56 2000

Encyclopedia of American Art
ASU REF N6507.E53 2000
"Covers all major artistic developments in the United States from the Colonial period until 1914."

Encyclopedia of World Art
ASU REF N31.E533 1959-1987
A seventeen volume set which covers architecture, sculpture, painting, and every other man-made object, in the broadest sense.

Grove Dictionary of Art
Available on & off campus

Covers all forms of the visual arts: painting, sculpture, architecture, graphic and decorative arts, and photography, from
prehistory to the 1990s.

Modern Arts Criticism
ASU REF N40.M63 1991
"A  biographical and critical guide to painters, sculptors, photographers, and architects, from the beginning of the modern era to the present."

Schirmer Encyclopedia of Art
ASU REF N31.L3 2002
This 4 volume set includes over 100 topical articles which focus on eras, movements, and genres. In addition, over 300 biographies are included.

Who's Who in Art
ASU REF N40.W6 2004
Provides a comprehensive list of biographical details of living artists in Ireland and Britain.

The Yale Dictionary of Art and Artists
ASU REF N33.L353 2000
Provides information on all aspects of western art from 1300 to the present day.

Selected Magazines & Journals

The following selected journal titles are available either from the Western North Carolina Library Network (WNCLN) or available in full text from the databases listed. Journals at ASU are located in Periodicals on the bottom floor of the library. To locate complete journal holdings for the network please check the Library Catalog . Journals held at Western Carolina University or University of North Carolina at Asheville can be obtained via ABC Express . Other journals can be obtained through Interlibrary Loan .

Selected Art Journals

WNCLN
Subscription

Online Availability
(Full Text)

AfterImage 1985- Academic Search, 1996-
American Art . JSTOR, 1991-2001
Academic Search, 1997-  
American Artist 1940-  Academic Search , 1990- 
Art Bulletin 1919-

Academic Search, 1985-
JSTOR 1919-2000 

Art History 1937-  Academic Search, 1997-
Art in America 1939- Academic Search , 2002-
Art Journal 1960- Academic Search, 1985-
Arts & Activities 1976- Academic Search, 1990-
Arts Education Policy Review 1994- Academic Search , 1992-
Ceramics Monthly 1965- Academic Search, 2000-
Communication Arts 1979- .
Critical Inquiry 1974- Online version, 2002-
Leonardo 1973- Project Muse, 2001-
Museum News 1980- .
October 1986-  Academic Search, 1997-
JSTOR, 1976-1998
School Arts 1935-   

Return to  Top

Web Sites

 

Art History Resources on the Web
http://witcombe.bcpw.sbc.edu/ARTHLinks.html
This site, provided by Sweet Briar College, provides links to images and artists.

ArtLex
http://www.artlex.com/
"ArtLex is a dictionary of visual art, defining more that 2,500 terms with pronunciation, diagrams, images, quotations, and links to additional resources."

Mother of All Art History Links Pages
http://www.umich.edu/~hartspc/histart/mother
A megasite of art sources that includes links to Art History departments, research resources, image collections, and art museums.

WebMuseum, Paris: Famous Artworks Exhibition
http://sunsite.unc.edu/wm/paint/
Covers European painting from 1280 to the 20th century, and Japanese art and architecture.

ASU Department Link

 

College of Fine and Applied Arts
http://www.art.appstate.edu/
Includes information on departments and programs, faculty works and student works, and technology resources.

218 College Street | P.O. Box 32026 | Boone, NC 28608-2026 Tel: (828) 262-2186
Disclaimer
Last update of this page April 13, 2007 11:56 am