Text Only | Comments/Suggestions | View Your Record | Search Site | Appalnet Appalachian State University

Research Guide to Demography/Population Studies

 

Citing Online sources
Can't find what you are looking for? Ask a Librarian!

Background Information

 

Britannica Online
Includes more than 72,000 encyclopedia articles with photographs, drawings, full motion video and audio clips, and more than 130,000 reviewed Web sites.

International Encyclopedia of Population (ASU Ref. HB849.2 .I55 1982 2 vols. w/index)
Lengthy signed articles on aspects of population studies and demography which include statistics and bibliographies.

Databases/ Article Indexes

 

Contemporary Women's Issues | about
Provides full-text access to global women's issues from journals, newsletters, research reports from non-profit groups, and government and international agencies. Especially helpful in the areas of reproductive health, family planning and the status of women.

GEOBASE | about
GEOBASE  contains citations, with abstracts from more than 2,100 international journals, books, theses, conference proceedings and reports in geography, geology, ecology, and related disciplines. Useful regarding the relationship between population and the environment.

JSTOR | about

Popline
http://db.jhuccp.org/popinform/basic.html
The world's largest bibliographic population database, providing citations with abstracts, POPLINE brings together over 290,000 records representing published and unpublished literature on population, family planning, and related health issues.

Population Index , Princeton, 1986-1999,

JSTOR provides an electronic archive of back issues (1937-1985)
Contains citations to article on population growth and control. This database is no longer being updated.

Science Direct | about

Sociological Abstracts | about
Provides citations, with abstracts, from more than 1,900 journals covering all facets of sociology and related disciplines. Also covers International Review of Publications in Sociology and Social Planning/Policy & Development Abstracts.

Also useful

 

Academic Search Premier | about
Provides citations with abstracts for over 8,200 scholarly journals and popular magazines and offers full text for over 4,000 journals and coverage of over 3,500 peer-reviewed journals covering a wide variety of subjects.

Ingenta | See ingenta services for more information
Contains more than six million citations to articles from nearly 17,000 international magazines and journals. Includes journal holdings information for the Western North Carolina Library Network (WNCLN).

Left Index | about
Provides citations to articles from journals that "have a Marxist, radical or left perspective." Subjects covered include politics, economics, the labor movement, ecology and environment, women's studies, race and ethnicity, social and cultural theory, sociology, art and aesthetics, philosophy, history, education, law, and globalization.

Return to Top

Library Catalogs

(To Locate Books, Journal Titles and Other Materials)

Library Catalog
To locate books, journal titles (after you have used an index to identify specific articles), and other materials in the ASU Libraries and the Western North Carolina Library Network (WNCLN).

WorldCat
WorldCat is a catalog of over 35 million books, serials, audiovisual media, maps, archives/manuscripts, scores, and computer files from 17,000 libraries around the world. Electronic interlibrary loan requesting is available for qualified patrons. WorldCat is not an index to journal articles.

Reference Sources

(Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, Handbooks, etc.)

AAAS Atlas of Population & Environment (ASU Ref. HB849.415 .H374 2000)
Population growth from the point of view of its impact on the environment.

Atlas of World Population History (ASU Ref. HB851 .M32)
Historical data on population growth by region, sub-region and selected countries.

Demographic Yearbook. Annuaire demographic. (ASU Ref HA 17.D45)
International collection of national demographic statistics.

World Population: a Reference Handbook (ASU Main Stacks. HB 8871 .H357 1991)
Contains an overview, a chronology and historically important documents. Also includes statistics, lists of references and a directory of organizations.

Return to Top

Selected Magazines & Journals

The following selected journal titles are available either from the Western North Carolina Library Network (WNCLN) or available in full text from the databases listed. Journals at ASU are located in Periodicals on the bottom floor of the library. To locate complete journal holdings for the network please check the Library Catalog. Journals held at Western Carolina University or University of North Carolina at Asheville can be obtained via ABC Express. Other journals can be obtained through Interlibrary Loan.

Selected Education Journals

WNCLN Subscription

Online Availability (Full Text)

Demography 1964- JSTOR, 1964-2002 / Project Muse, 2000-
Population: English Selection 1989- JSTOR, 1989-2001
Population and Development Review 1992- JSTOR, 1975-2001/Blackwell, 1999-
Population and Environment 1980- SpringLink, 1997-
Population Review   Project Muse, 2003
Population Studies 1947- JSTOR, 1947-2001
Theoretical Population Biology 1974- Science Direct, 1995-
World Watch 1988- Military & Gov't Coll., 1993-


Return to Top


Statistical Sources

 

Population Reference Bureau Datafinder
http://www.prb.org/datafind/datafinder6.htm
International demographic data

Statistical Abstract of the U.S . (ASU Ref. HA 202)
http://www.census.gov/statab/www/

United Nations Statistical Division - Demographic and Social Statistics
http://unstats.un.org/unsd/demographic/default.htm
Includes Demographic Yearbook's historical supplement

US Census Bureau, International Programs Center
http://www.census.gov/ipc/www/
Provides access to a computerized data bank containing statistical tables of demographic, and socio-economic data for 227 countries and areas of the world.

 

Web sites

 

Population Connection
http://www.populationconnection.org
Formerly known as Zero Population Growth (ZPG) this organization aims to influence
public policies, attitudes and behaviors to reduce population growth. Online publications and fact sheets provide information for activists and educators.

Population Council
http://www.popcouncil.org
An international nonprofit institution conducting research on reproductive health and population growth. Online research reports and links to information by country.

Population Institute
http://populationinstitute.org
Emphasizes awareness, education and voluntary family planning programs. Online issues of Population Today (newsletter).

Population Reference Bureau
http://www.prb.org
An excellent source for statistics and articles on all aspects of demography and population studies (fertility, mortality, migration, health, family planning, etc.). The site includes a datafinder and a glossary.

United Nations Population Fund (UNFPA)
http://www.unfpa.org
Works to help developing countries solve their population problems. Online news items, articles and country program information plus "State of World Population" data.

Return to Top

Compiled by Martha Cutler, cutlerma@appstate.edu December 2005

218 College Street | P.O. Box 32026 | Boone, NC 28608-2026 Tel: (828) 262-2186
Disclaimer
Last update of this page April 13, 2007 11:56 am