Research Guide for Education
-
Databases & Articles
-
Reference Sources
-
Selected Magazines and Journals
-
Curriculum Guides
-
Statistical Sources
-
Web Sites
-
ASU Department Links
-
Content Editor
John Boyd
boydjd@appstate.edu Reference Librarian 828-262-2827 -
Updated 23 June 2007
Databases & Articles (opens in a new window)
Reference Sources
The Almanac of American Education
ASU REFERENCE
LA217.2 .A45 (2005)
The College Blue Book
Online Ebook (2005)
Guide to thousands of 2- and 4-year schools in the U.S. and Canada, their programs, degrees, and financial aid sources.
Education and Technology : an Encyclopedia
ASU REFERENCE
LB1028.3 .E17 (2004)
Encyclopedia of Distance Learning
ASU REFERENCE
LC5211 .E516 (2005)
Encyclopedia of Education
ASU REFERENCE LB15.E47 (2003)
Provides more than 1,000 articles on the institutions and people, of the processes and products, found in educational practice. The articles deal with history, theory, research, and philosophy, as well as the structure of education.
Encyclopedia of Education and Human Development
ASU REFERENCE
LB15 .E473 (2005)
Encyclopedia of Educational Research
ASU REFERENCE LB15 .E48 (1992)
Provides concise summaries of research in education, which are contributed by prominent scholars in the respective fields. Includes an extensive bibliography with each entry.
Higher Education Directory
ASU READY REF L 901.H4 (2006)
Contains listings of accredited, degree granting institutions of post-secondary education in the United States and its outlying areas.
International Encyclopedia of Adult Education
ASU REFERENCE
LC5211 .I56 (2005)
Selected Magazines and Journals
American Journal of Education
American Teacher
Childhood Education
The Chronicle of Higher Education
Curriculum Review
Harvard Educational Review
Journal of Education
Journal of Educational Research
Journal of General Education
Journal of Higher Education
Journal of Teacher Education
Phi Delta Kappan
Reading Research and Instruction
Reading Research Quarterly
Review of Educational Research
The Review of Higher Education
Sociology of Education
Studies in Higher Education
Technology & Learning
Curriculum Guides
The Instructional Materials Center (IMC) in Belk Library contains a large collection of curriculum guides covering many topics. For a list of publications see the bibliography of Curriculum Guides in the Instructional Materials Center.
ArtsEdge
http://artsedge.kennedy-center.org/teach/
Teaching Materials is designed to provide K-12 teachers with curriculum materials, programs, strategies, and other information relating to the performing arts and to national education goals.
Educator's Reference Desk - Lesson Plans
http://www.eduref.org/
This collection contains more than 2,000 unique lesson plans which were written and submitted by teachers from all over the United States and the world.
-
Discovery Channel School
http://school.discovery.com/schoolhome.html
K-12 lesson plans on a broad range of subjects, plus other features for teachers, such as a discussion bulletin board.
ENC Online
http://www.goenc.com/
From the Eisenhower National Clearinghouse for Mathematics and Science Education. This site focuses on math and science education with lesson plans, links to web sites, and lists of resources and ideas.
The Gateway to Educational Materials (GEM)
http://thegateway.org/
This is a National Library of Education and the U.S. Department of Education consortium effort "to create an operational framework to provide America's teachers with "one-stop, any-stop" access to Internet-based educational resources" such as "Internet lesson plans, curriculum units and other education resources."
Learn North Carolina
http://www.learnnc.org/
Contains the Standard Course of Study, curriculum resources, and a sample lesson plan. Now provides multiple collections of instructional plans submitted by teachers around the state. Each of the databases is open to all registered LEARN NC users.
Technology Curriculum Integration Ideas
http://www.remc11.k12.mi.us/bcisd/classres/intideas.htm
This site provides information about the technology requirements and assessment, and also provide resources for learning the required skills.
Statistical Sources
International Archive of Education Data
http://www.icpsr.umich.edu/IAED/
LexisNexis Statistical (updated daily)
Available on & off campus
Includes thousands of full text sources covering crime, education, demographics, economics, and health statistics.
National Center for Education Statistics
http://nces.ed.gov/
The Purpose of the Center is to collect and report "...statistics and information showing the condition and progress of education in the United States and other nations in order to promote and accelerate the improvement of American education."
Web Sites
American School Directory
http://www.asd.com/
Guide to over 100,000 K-12 Schools, providing standardized information about each school and a link to each school's Web site, if available.
- College and University Home Pages
-
http://www.mit.edu:8001/people/cdemello/univ.html
These lists contain home pages for universities and colleges all over the world.
CollegeSource Online
Available on & off campus
CollegeSource Online features over 12,100 College Catalogs in complete cover-to-cover original page format including 2-year, 4-year, graduate, and professional schools.
Developing Education Standards
http://edstandards.org/Standards.html
A comprehensive directory of national, state, and local educational standards.
National Education Association
http://www.nea.org/
Information from the National Education Association on public education, teachers, schools, students, partnerships, parents, news and issues.
National Institute for Literacy
http://novel.nifl.gov/
Includes links to literacy resources, including publications, tracking literacy related legislation, funding sources, and literary programs. Also includes forums on literacy.
Public Schools of North Carolina
http://www.dpi.state.nc.us/
The North Carolina Department of Public Instruction's site provides curriculum resources, news, reports, and employment information.
http://www.petersons.com
Includes extensive education resources from the publishers of the Peterson's guides.
The University of North Carolina System
http://www.northcarolina.edu/
In North Carolina, all the public educational institutions that grant baccalaureate degrees are part of the University of North Carolina system, administered by the North Carolina General Administration, and composed of 16 constituent institutions which form the multi-campus state university.
The U.S. Department of Education
http://www.ed.gov/
Contains reference sources, press releases, publications and statistics compiled by the Department of Education.
ASU Department Links
The Reich College of Education
http://www.ced.appstate.edu/
Includes information on departments and programs, publications, centers and projects, and technology resources.
