Text Only | Comments/Suggestions | View Your Record | Search Site | Appalnet Appalachian State University

Research Guide for Film Studies


Databases & Articles (opens in a new window)

 

Reference Sources

Cinema Year by Year, 1894-2003
ASU REFERENCE PN1993.5.A1 C56 (2003)

The Encyclopedia of American Independent Filmmaking
ASU REFERENCE PN1993.45 .L63  (2002)

The Film Encyclopedia
ASU REFERENCE PN1993.45 .K34 (2001)

The Internet Movie Database/IMDb
http://us.imdb.com/

The New Biographical Dictionary of Film
ASU REFERENCE PN1998.2 .T49 (2002)

Finding Film Reviews

Academic Search Premier , EBSCOHost, 1984-present; Full Text: 1990-present
Available on & off campus | about
Provides citations with abstracts for over 8,200 scholarly journals and popular magazines and offers full text for over 4,000 journals.

Ethnic NewsWatch, 1993-present, (updated monthly)
Available on & off campus | about
Contains the complete text of more than 450,000 articles, editorials, and book and movie reviews published in approximately 200 ethnic and minority newspapers, magazines, and journals. Select "Movie Review" from Type of Article.

LexisNexis Academic, Coverage varies, Full Text (updated daily)
Available on & off campus | about
From the News category select Arts and Sports.

MRQE/Movie Review Query Engine Full Text
http://www.mrqe.com/lookup?
Searchable database of over 130,000 full-text reviews on the Web of over 18,000 films. Much more useful for films released in the last 5-6 years than for older films.

New York Times Film Reviews, 1913-2000
ASU REFERENCE PN1995 .N4
Full text reviews beginning in 1913 from The New York Times.

Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature, 1900-present
ASU REFERENCE AI3.R48
Useful resource for finding film reviews in popular magazines and periodicals from the beginning days of the film industry.

Variety Film Reviews, 1907-1996
ASU REFERENCE PN1995 .V34

Finding Films at ASU

You can search for films/videos at ASU in a number of ways:

Search the Library Catalog by title of film (e.g. Nashville)
Author search for director of film (e.g. Altman, robert)
Limiting an advanced keyword search by location--ASU Movies (select ASU Movies from pull-down menu)
Search by subject--Feature Films
View our film/video collection by language of film
See our Movie Collection page

 

Selected Subject Headings

Cinematography
Documentary Films
Foreign Films
Motion Picture Authorship
Motion Pictures
Motion Pictures and History
Motion Pictures and Literature
Motion Pictures And The War World War 1939 1945
Motion Pictures Bibliography
Motion Pictures Catalogs
Motion Pictures Censorship United States
Motion Pictures Editing
Motion Pictures History
Motion Pictures Moral And Ethical Aspects
Motion Pictures Philosophy
Motion Pictures Production and Direction
Motion Pictures Psychological Aspects
Motion Pictures Reviews
Motion Pictures Social Aspects
Motion Pictures United States History
Screenwriters
Silent Films


Web Sites

AFI - American Film Institute
http://www.afi.com/

All Movie Guide
http://www.allmovie.com/index.html
This Web site gives reviews, biography, plot summaries, and analytic coverage of films from all over the world.

CineMedia
http://www.cinemedia.org/welcomes/you.html
A film & media directory to cinema, actors, films, directors, video, organizations, magazines, festivals, and research.

Drew's Scripts-O-Rama
http://www.script-o-rama.com/

Facets Multi-Media
http://www.facets.org/
Facets Video is one of the nation's largest distributors of art, classic, cult, foreign and hard-to-find videos. Facets video library consists of over 27,000 titles, all of which are available for purchase.

Images: A Journal of Film and Popular Culture
http://www.imagesjournal.com/index.html
Described as a site "for everyone who enjoys movies and popular culture" and "for people who don't just passively watch movies." A quarterly journal with new reviews and articles added weekly.

The Internet Movie Database/IMDb
http://us.imdb.com/
Detailed information on over 150,000 films and television programs. Search by film title, actress/actors's name, or the name of someone else involved in creating the film (cinematographer, producer, director).

Quicktime Movie Trailers
http://www.apple.com/trailers

 

ASU Department Links

Department of English - Film Studies

218 College Street | P.O. Box 32026 | Boone, NC 28608-2026 Tel: (828) 262-2186
Disclaimer
Last update of this page April 13, 2007 11:56 am