Research Guide for Grants and Funding
-
Databases
-
Reference Sources
-
Subject Headings
-
Web Sites
-
ASU Department Links
-
Contact Librarian Allan Scherlen
scherlnag@appstate.edu February, 2006
Databases
Foundation Directory Online - Provides details on U.S. funders and their grants. It offers in-depth information on U.S. grantmakers and their grants, drawn from reliable sources, including IRS 990s, grantmaker web sites and annual reports, plus data provided directly by grantmakers.
GrantSelect - An online searchable database that is accessible through the ASU Library. Contains over 10,000 funding opportunities provided by more than 4,000 sponsoring organizations with each record including contact information, sponsor name and address, subject terms for related searches, and type of sponsor (federal agency, foundation, research institute, etc.). [ASU researchers should talk with either Pollyanne Frantz (frantzps; tel. 2130) or Perry Mixter (mixterhp; tel. 6734) before contacting a funding agency. ]
Grants Resource Center/GrantSearch (username/password and link to database) -
The GRC GrantSearch database contains descriptions, deadlines and contact information on nearly 2,000 federal and private funding programs of particular interest to higher education institutions that subscribe to GRC services. For more information about GRC, please contact Pollyanne Frantz at frantzps@appstate.edu or 828-262-7789.
Reference Sources
Annual Register of Grant Support | "A guide to more than 3,500 grant-giving organizations offering nonrepayable support shows you how to tap the immense funding potential of these sources. Organized by 11 major subject areas-with 61 specific subcategories-Grant Support 2006 is the definitive resource for researching and uncovering a full range of available grant sources. Not only does it direct you to traditional corporate, private, and public funding programs, it also shows you the way to little known, nontraditional grant sources such as educational associations and unions."
ASU Reference REF AS 911 .A2 A67
The Europa international foundation directory | "This directory of international foundations, trusts, charitable and grant-making NGOs and other similar non-profit institutions provides a comprehensive picture of foundation activity on a world scale."
ASU Reference REF HV7 .I56 2005
Foundation Directory | Online Version | A classic guide to America's top funders. The Directory features key facts on the nation's top 10,000 foundations by total giving. And, with over 46,000 descriptions of selected grants, the Directory provides fundraisers with unique insight into foundation giving priorities. Directory Part 2 broadens the funding base to include the next 10,000 largest foundations by total giving. It also features over 42,000 grant descriptions. Directory Part 2 grantmakers contribute hundreds of millions of dollars to nonprofits each year, providing crucial support for organizations on both the local and national level.
ASU Reference REF AS 911 .A2 F65
National Directory of Corporate Giving |" The most current information available in print on more than 4,100 corporate grantmakers. Includes over 7,800 descriptions of recently awarded grants."
ASU Reference REF HV89 .N26
Subject Headings
Search the Appalachian State University Library Catalog with subject terms such as:
- Research Grants
- Subsidies
- Grants-in-Aid
- Block grants
- Federal aid to business research
- Proposal writing for grants
- Fund raising
- Funding
Some Examples of Books the Library Owns:
- Getting science grants : effective strategies for funding success by Thomas R. Blackburn - ASU Main Stacks Q180.55.G7 B53 2003
- Grant seeker's budget toolkit [electronic resource] Netlibrary by Cheryl New, James Quick
- Grantseeker's toolkit : a comprehensive guide to finding funding by Cheryl New, James Quick ASU Main Stacks HV41.2 .N48 1998
- Grant writing for educators : practical strategies for teachers, administrators, and staff by Beverly A. Browning ASU Main Stacks LB2342.4.U6 B76 2005
- Guide to effective grant writing : how to write a successful NIH grant application by Otto O. Yang ASU Main Stacks 11.D6 Y36 2005
- The "how to" grants manual : successful grantseeking techniques for obtaining public and private grants by David G. Bauer [earlier editions also available] ASU Main Stacks HG177 .B38 2003
- How to evaluate and improve your grants effort by David G. Bauer ASU Main Stacks HG177 .B377 2001 and HG177 .B377 2001 CD-ROM
- The only grant-writing book you'll ever need by Ellen Karsh and Arlen Sue Fox ASU Main Stacks HG177.5.U6 K37 2003
- Proposal planning and writing / Lynn E. Miner and Jeremy T. Miner [earlier editions also available] ASU Main Stacks HG177.5.U6 M56 2003
- Research proposals : a guide to success by Thomas E. Ogden, Israel A. Goldberg ASU Main Stacks R853.P75 O35 2002
- Writing grant proposals that win / edited by Deborah Ward ASU Main Stacks HG177 .H35 2006
Web Sites
Grants.gov | "Grants.gov allows those seeking grants to electronically find and apply for competitive grant opportunities from all Federal grant-making agencies. Grants.gov is THE single access point for over 1000 grant programs offered by the 26 Federal grant-making agencies."
Community of Science (COS) - | An account can be set up by contacting Appalachian State University's Office of Research and Sponsored Programs, ext. 2130. All ASU faculty will want to start with COS, the world's most comprehensive funding resource, with more than 22,000 records representing nearly 400,000 opportunities. COS maintains a database of grants, fellowships, and other funding information from public and private, domestic and international sources. Though the name refers to holdings on science funding, this service also offers a wealth of information on social sciences, humanities & community outreach funding. Setting up a COS Funding Alert tailored to an individual's research interests can be valuable for ongoing investigation of funding options.
The Foundation Center - "Your Gateway to Philanthropy on the World Wide Web" - an independent national service organization that provides an authoritative source of information on foundation and corporate giving for nonprofit organizations. Contact Appalachian State University's Office of Research and Sponsored Programs, ext. 2130 about accessing the Foundation Center Directory Online. [See paper version in next section below]
Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance | "Identifies and describes specific government assistance opportunities such as loans, grants, counseling, and procurement contracts available under many agencies and programs." A paper version (less up-to-date than the online version) is available in the ASU Library Refereence at REF HC 110 .P63 U53a
GuideStar | Produced by Philanthropic Research, Inc.: searchable directory of over 850,000 nonprofit organizations. Free profiles of IRS 990 filings. Makes researching and comparing public charitable organizations easier.
GrantsWeb. | Produced by the Society of Research Administrators, this site provides information on grants and funding in four categories; 1) Government Resources, 2) General Resources, 3) Policy Information & Regulations, and 4) Private Funding.
ASU Department Links
Contact Appalachian State University's Office of Research and Sponsored Programs. The office provides support for the research and scholarly endeavors of Appalachian faculty, staff, and students. This includes assistance in securing external funding, providing internal funding opportunities, and Institutional Review Board ( IRB) and Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee (ICUC) administration. Please feel free to call their office at ext. 2130 or visit them on the 2nd floor of John E. Thomas Building .
Also see:
Corporate & Foundation Relations Website provided by the Appalachian State University Office of University Advancement. "This site is designed to provide you with information related to researching potential external private funding sources for campus programs and initiatives. The role of the CFR Director is to match prospective corporate and foundation funding sources with campus programs, and to work with faculty and staff to secure the needed resources to support new and ongoing initiatives that are consistent with the overall funding objectives established by the University." Contact CFR to discuss your ideas and how University Advancement might support your work.
