Text Only | Comments/Suggestions | View Your Record | Search Site | Appalnet Appalachian State University

Research Guide to the Holocaustbtrfly
zzz

 

Image description:

The butterfly hovers above the red poppy, symbolic of the triumph of the human will and spirit. Special Commemorative Paintings by Mark Littlejohn*:

"The Red Flower"... 1999, for the blood of the murdered souls, upon which can be sown seeds of hope and tolerance.
"Butterfly"...2000, inspired by poetry of children in the camps and based on the poem, "The Butterfly."

(*Mark Littlejohn, M.D. is a resident of Blowing Rock, NC)

 

Library Catalog Search Strategies

 

For books about the Holocaust, search by subject for the phrase holocaust jewish 1939-1945 . The retrieved list will include many subheadings for narrower Holocaust topics. Also search the subject phrase asu holocaust project to retrieve a list of titles in this special collection. For books about more specific Holocaust topics, search either by subject or keyword for terms, such as holocaust survivors, auschwitz, concentration camps , or genocide.

Reference Sources

 

Associated Press (AP)  Photo Archive
This database includes historical and modern photographs related to the holocaust.

Encyclopedia of the Holocaust
4 volumes
REF. D804.3 .E53 1990

History of the Holocaust: A Handbook and Dictionary
REF. D804.3 .E33 A94 1994

"Holocaust,"  in Encyclopedia Judaica
1971-72
REF. DS102.8 .E496 vol. 8, columns 828-906

The Holocaust Series
2001, 5 volumes
IMC 940.5318 G685de

"1939-1945: Nazi Extermination of the Jews," in Chronology Of European History 15,000 B.C. to 1997
Volume 3, p. 1086-1089
REF. D11.C57 1997

Locating Periodical Articles

 

Academic Search Premier
Indexes magazines, journals, and newspapers in all discipline, 1984 to current, with many full-text articles.

America: History and Life
Indexes journals and books on the United States and Canada, 1964 to current, citations and abstracts only. Links to the full text journals from JSTOR and Project Muse .

Historical Abstracts
Indexes journals and books, 1955 to current, on world history and related topics from 1450 to the present, citations and abstracts only. Links to the full text journals from JSTOR and Project Muse .

JSTOR
An online full-text scholarly journal collection.

Project Muse
Full-text of journals in the humanities, social sciences, and math from Johns Hopkins University Press, 1995-current.

Selected Journals

 

Holocaust and Genocide Studies Vol. 12, 1998-current, published in association with the United States Holocaust Memorial Council and Yad Vashem, the Holocaust Martyrs' and Heroes' Remembrance Authority, Jerusalem.

Selected Videos

America and the Holocaust: Deceit and Indifference Uses  interviews, official photos, home movies, and archival footage to explore the
factors that shaped America's response to the Holocaust.
VC 7087
Breaking the Silence Examines the effects of the Holocaust on subsequent generations and the communications gap that has been created. VC 6962
Calling the Ghosts Women survivors of Omarska detention camp decribe the camp and the situation in Bosnia and Herzagovnia (Serbo-Croatian language with captions in English). VC 9092
Choosing One's Way: Resistance in Auschwitz/Birkenau Features thirteen survivors, each of whom contributes to the piecing together of this
incredible story of heroism.
VC 9484
The Cross and the Star: Jews, Christians, and the 
Holocaust
Examines the role of Christianity in the Holocaust and asks where the institutional
churches and governments were while the Nazi atrocities were being committed.
VC 9281
Force of Evil Uses archival footage and taped interviews with survivors to address questions of the Holocaust. VC 9482
Forget Me Not: the Anne Frank Story Fictionalized account of an historical event to be used for interdisciplinary and multicultural studies of history, biography, literature, geography, tolerance, and intolerance. VC 8257
Genocide: the Story of Man's Inhumanity to Man Tells the definitive story of the Holocaust.  VC 4808
Holocaust: In Dark Places Susan Sontag explores the meaning of Hitler's genocide. VC 9447
Holocaust: In Memory of Millions From the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum, Walter Cronkite chronicles the entire story of the Holocaust. VC 8328
The Janovska Camp at Lvov: Survivors Tell Their Story Survivors of Nazi labor camp, Janovska, returned to the scene of the mass murders. VC 9483
Liberation Documentary on the progress of the Allied offensive against Germany at the same time that Hitler was winning the genocidal war against European Jews. VC 9285
The Last Seven Months of Anne Frank Documents the last months of Anne Frank's life in Bergen-Belsen concentration camp. VC 9481
The Longest Hatred: the History of anti-Semitism Traces anti-Semitism from its earliest manifestations. VC 6982 pt. 1-2
Love Story Documentary about the love affair between a Nazi housewife and mother, and a young Jewish woman living "underground" in Berlin during World War II. VC 9187
Minorities in America: Lessons from WWII Begins with the Tuskegee Experiment which set out to prove the theory that Blacks were incapable of flying airplanes. Includes segments on Navajo Code Talkers as well as the United States government's treatment of the Japanese after Pearl Harbor. VC 10352
Opening the Gates of Hell: American Liberators of the Nazi Concentration Camps American veterans, among the first troops to enter Nazi concentration camps, relate their memories of that experience. Graphic archival footage. VC 9274
People of the Book Focuses on the conflicts that arose in Europe between Christians and non Christians, culminating in the explusion of the Jews from Spain. VC 4488
Reflecting on the Holocaust Francis Borkowski, Chancellor of Appalachian State University, interviews Zohara
Boyd and Rosemary Horowitz, two women whose families survived the ghetto and
work camps of German occupied Poland. The women, both members of the English
faculty at Appalachian State, share their thoughts on the Holocaust and modern-day
acts of discrimination.
VC 9171
Schindler The story of Oskar Schindler is presented through archival film, photographs, and interviews with survivors and witnesses. VC 9283
Schindler's List True story of the enigmatic Oskar Schindler, a member of the Nazi party, womanizer and war profiteer, who saved the lives of more than 1,100 Jews during the Holocaust. VC 9633
pt. 1-2 ;
VC 7638
Visually Impaired
Edition
Shoah The Nazi extermination of Jews is examined through interviews of survivors, witnesses, and perpetrators  through footage of the sites of the death camps and environs as they appear today. VC 10534 pt. 1-2
VC 10534 pt. 3-4
Survivors of the Holocaust Weaves archival footage with Holocaust survivors' personal testimonies. VC 9273
Theresienstadt, Gateway to Auschwitz Chronicles the history of the Theresienstadt ghetto which was used during World War II by the Nazis as a transit camp for Jewish deportees en route to other death camps. VC 9486
They Risked Their Lives Selected interviews of Holocaust rescuers in 12 countries which show a variety of people and their reasons for helping the Jews escape. VC 9284
Tomorrow Came Much Later: A Journey of Conscience A documentary about a journey by a high school class, their teacher, and a survivor of the Holocaust. Includes visits to Warsaw, Auschwitz, and the Majdanek and Mauthausen concentration camps and an interview with famed Nazi hunter Simon Wiesenthal. VC 5031
Les Violons du Bal Filmmaker Michel Drach tells the story of his childhood during World War II and his family's escape from the Nazis (French with English subtitles). VC 8140
We Must Never Forget: the Story of the Holocaust Using archival footage and interviews, including that of a survivor, the story of the 
Holocaust is related.
VC 7782
The Willy Lindwer Collection: Child in Two Worlds This film examines how many Jewish parents sent their children into hiding in Christian foster home during World War II. VC 9485
The World of Anne Frank Dramatic recreations from the diary of Anne Frank as well as documentary material to create the milieu in which Anne Frank lived. VC 7781

 

Web Sites

 

ACADEMIC INFORMATION HOLOCAUST STUDIES (An annotated directory of Internet resources for the study of the Jewish Holocaust)
http://www.academicinfo.net/histholo.html

ANTI-DEFAMATION LEAGUE ONLINE
http://www.adl.org/

CLAIMS CONFERENCE RESTITUTION GUIDE (Outlines and clarifies some of the major compensation and restitution programs currently available for Holocaust survivors and their heirs)
http://www.claimscon.org/

COMMITTEE ON CONSCIENCE WEB LINKS (Websites documenting genocide, ethnic strife, war crimes, and human rights violations worldwide)
http://www.ushmm.org/conscience

CYBRARY OF THE HOLOCAUST (Uses art, discussion groups, photos, poems, and facts to preserve memories and to educate)
http://remember.org/index.html

FORTUNOFF VIDEO ARCHIVE FOR HOLOCAUST TESTIMONIALS (Archive of videotaped interviews with witnesses and survivors at the Yale University Library)
http://www.library.yale.edu/testimonies/homepage.html

GENOCIDE -- RESOURCES FOR TEACHING AND RESEARCH (A reference and contact site for scholars and students from the Genocide Research Project of the University of Memphis Criminology/Criminal Justice Department and the Pennsylvania State University Sociology Department's Sociology Program; coverage includes the Jewish Holocaust as well as other groups)
http://www.people.memphis.edu/~genocide

HISTORY PLACE -- HOLOCAUST TIMELINE
http://www.historyplace.com/worldwar2/holocaust/timeline.html

HOLOCAUST EDUCATION FOR CHILDREN -- TEACHING RESOURCES
http://www.mindspring.com/~cleanccl/holocaustteachingresources.html

HOLOCAUST ERA ISSUES (U.S. Embassy in Sweden; includes reparations information)
http://www.usemb.se/holocaust/index.html

HOLOCAUST/GENOCIDE PROJECT (A project of the International Education and Resource Network)
http://www.iearn.org/hgp/hgp-home.html

HOLOCAUST MEMORIAL CENTER (Includes information on Holocaust genealogical research)
http://www.holocaustcenter.org/holocaust.shtml

HOLOCAUST REMEMBRANCE PROJECT (A writing project for high school students; the site includes teacher resources and web links)
http://www.hklaw.com/holocaust/

HOLOCAUST/SHOAH (David Dickerson's bibliography of web sites on many aspects of the Holocaust)
http://www.igc.apc.org/ddickerson/holocaust.html

MAVEN--HOLOCAUST AND ANTISEMITISM (Choose Holocaust to access a bibliography of web sites)
http://www.maven.co.il/

NIZKOR PROJECT (A response to Holocaust Revisionism/denial)
http://www.nizkor.org/

SHAMASH--THE JEWISH INTERNET CONSORTIUM , HOLOCAUST HOME PAGE (A project of Hebrew College, MAS, this site includes phots, a rebuttal to the Holocaust denial movement, and links to other sites)
http://www.shamash.org/holocaust/

U.S. HOLOCAUST MEMORIAL MUSEUM , Washington, D.C. (The site includes exhibitions, research, a library, archives, and a national registry of Jewish Holocaust survivors)
http://www.ushmm.org/

WITNESS AND LEGACY (The Holocaust art museum from NYSU at Albany)
http://www.albany.edu/museum/wwwmuseum/holo/

YAD VA SHEM (Holocaust Martyrs' and Heroes' Remembrance Authority Memorial Museum in Jerusalem; this site offers access to resources, education tools, links to related sites, and more)
http://www.yad-vashem.org.il/

Teaching About the Holocaust

Resources available in the Instructional Materials Center .

Content editor: Pat Farthing, farthingsp@appstate.edu

218 College Street | P.O. Box 32026 | Boone, NC 28608-2026 Tel: (828) 262-2186
Disclaimer
Last update of this page April 13, 2007 11:56 am