Research Guide for Country Information
-
Databases & Articles
-
Reference Sources
-
Education Sources
-
Health & Environmental Sources
-
Human Rights & Legal Sources
-
Statistical Sources
-
ASU Links
-
Content Editor
John Boyd
boydjd@appstate.edu Reference Librarian
828-262-2827 -
Content Updated 9 July 2007
Databases & Articles (opens in a new window)
Reference Sources
Background Notes
http://www.state.gov/r/pa/ei/bgn/
The U.S. Department of State produces this series of reports, each of which describes the people, history, foreign relations, and economy of countries worldwide.
Country Studies
http://lcweb2.loc.gov/frd/cs/cshome.html
Country Studies is a series offering detailed accounts of the political, social and economic institutions of the countries and their cultural milieu.
World Factbook
http://www.odci.gov/cia/publications/factbook/index.html
The World Fact Book provides succinct coverage of each country's current situation, in an almanac-like manner.
Education Sources
Current Issues in Comparative Education
http://www.tc.columbia.edu/cice/
From Teachers College, Columbia University, a free online international journal for debate of issues in comparative and international education.
Educational Policy Institute
http://www.educationalpolicy.org/
"Non-profit, non-governmental organization dedicated to policy-based research on educational opportunity for all students," with offices in several countries.
Institute of International Education
http://www.iie.org/
An excellent source on study abroad opportunities, IIE conducts statistical and policy research and provides information on international study and work opportunities.
International Comparisons in Education
http://nces.ed.gov/surveys/international/
This site, maintained by the U.S. Department of Education's National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), contains tables comparing many different educational aspects between the United States and other countries, at all different educational levels.
Universities Worldwide
http://univ.cc/
Links to thousands of universities worldwide.
Health & Environmental Sources
CDC Travel Information
http://www.cdc.gov/
The Centers for Disease Control produce a wealth of information regarding diseases around the world as well as information on health risks, nutrition, and injuries.
Commodity Index
http://minerals.er.usgs.gov/minerals/pubs/commodity/
This site, maintained by the U.S. Geological Survey, provides thorough information on the state of mineral commodities throughout the world. Or use the International Minerals Information site to see the same information listed by country, rather than by mineral
Country Analysis Briefs
http://www.eia.doe.gov/emeu/cabs/contents.html
This site is produced by the Energy Information Administration of the U.S. Department of Energy, and is a searchable overview of the energy situation in each of the member countries of OPEC, and some of the major non-OPEC oil exporting countries.
Country Health Profiles
http://www.paho.org/english/country.htm
Includes basic country health profiles for the Americas.
EnviroLink
http://www.envirolink.org/
EnviroLink a non-profit organization that unites hundreds of organizations and volunteers around the world with millions of people in more than 150 countries, and is dedicated to providing the most comprehensive, up-to-date environmental resources available.
UNAIDS
http://www.unaids.org/
From the Joint United Nations Programme on HIV/AIDS, information and reports on HIV/AIDS worldwide.
United Nations Environment Programme
http://www.unep.org/
Contains Information about United Nations programs and identification of international environmental issues and challenges.
World Health Organization
http://www.who.int/
The objective of the World Health Organization (WHO) is the attainment by all peoples of the highest possible level of health.
World Resources Institute
http://www.wri.org/wri/index.html
This web site contains a large amount of information on the global environmental situation.
Human Rights & Legal Sources
Amnesty International
http://www.amnesty.org/
This site provides full-text reports that document the human rights situations in individual countries, describe Amnesty's campaigns, survey human rights around the world, and much more. See also Amnesty International's Annual Reports .
Constitution Finder
http://confinder.richmond.edu/
"This index offers constitutions, charters, amendments, and other related documents."
Foreign and International Law
http://www.washlaw.edu:80/forint/
Searchable links to primary foreign and international legal resources, research aids, and sites useful in conducting research in these areas of the law.
Human Rights Today
http://www.un.org/rights/HRToday/
This edition outlines the concrete steps that are being taken by the United Nations at the international and national levels to strengthen its human rights programmes and work more effectively with its partners in government and civil society to assure rights for all.
Human Rights Treaties
http://www1.umn.edu/humanrts/treaties.htm
From the Human Rights Library at the University of Minnesota
Human Rights Watch
http://www.hrw.org/
Dedicated to challenging governments and those who hold power to end abusive practices and respect international human rights law.
INCORE Internet Country Guides
http://www.incore.ulst.ac.uk/cds/countries/index.html
Collection of resources on conflict and ethnicity in selected countries.
International Court of Justice
http://www.lawschool.cornell.edu/library/cijwww/icjwww/idecisions.htm
"List of all Decisions and Advisory Opinions brought before the Court since 1946 ."
Internet Law Library - Laws of Other Nations http://www.lawguru.com/ilawlib/52.htm
This service provides links to foreign legislation from countries and territories.
Treaties and International Law
http://www.lectlaw.com/inll/89.htm
Treaties in Force
http://www.state.gov/www/global/legal_affairs/tifindex.html
"A list of treaties and other international agreements of the United States in force as of January 1, 2000."
United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights
http://www.unhchr.ch/
The UNHCHR promotes human rights, facilitates access to human rights documentation, and supports the work of the Commission on Human Rights.
UNHCR - The UN Refugee Agency
http://www.unhcr.org/cgi-bin/texis/vtx/home
Focuses on helping the world's refugees.
Statistical Sources
Data & Statistics
http://www.worldbank.org/data/databytopic/databytopic.html
Data from the World Bank Group on a variety of topics, including agriculture, education, environment, health, industry, poverty, rural and urban development, and much more.
InfoNation
http://www.un.org/Pubs/CyberSchoolBus/infonation/e_infonation.htm
InfoNation is a database that allows you to view and compare the most up-to-date statistical data for the Member States of the United Nations.
International Data Base
http://www.census.gov/ipc/www/idbnew.html
The U.S. Census Bureau maintains this computerized data bank containing statistical tables of demographic, and socio-economic data for all countries of the world.
Stat-USA
Available on and off campus
Stat-USA is the U.S. Government's most comprehensive source of international trade data and export promotion information.
Statistical Agencies (International)
http://www.census.gov/main/www/stat_int.html
Government statistical agencies from around the world.
UNESCO Institute for Statistics
http://unescostat.unesco.org/en/stats/stats0.htm
The UNESCO Statistical Yearbook is a collection of international data in the fields of education, science and technology, culture and communication.
ASU Links
International Programs
http://www.international.appstate.edu/
Appalachian State University's international focus includes: international student admissions, study abroad programs, visiting exchange scholars and faculty, and 41 institutional partnerships in over 17 countries.
