Text Only | Comments/Suggestions | View Your Record | Search Site | Appalnet Appalachian State University

Research Guide for Latin America


Databases & Articles (opens in a new window)

 

Reference Sources

Britannica Online
Available on & off campus
Includes more than 72,000 encyclopedia articles with photographs, drawings, full motion video and audio clips, and more than 130,000 reviewed Web sites.

Cambridge History of Latin America
ASU REF F1406.C1834
Each volume in this 11-volume set examines a period in the region's economic, social, political, intellectual and cultural history "from the first contacts between the native American Indians and Europeans in the late fifteenth and early sixteenth century to the present". Each chapter is accompanied by a bibligraphic essay which surveys the secondary literature of Latin America.

Encyclopedia of Contemporary Latin American and Caribbean Cultures
ASU Ref F.1406.E515
Three volume set gives the cultural-historical context for key political figures, movements, etc.

International historical statistics: the Americas 1750-1988
ASU MAIN STACKS HA175.M55 1993
Includes data on climate, labor, agriculture, industry, trade, and finance. Covers most of the twentieth and significant parts of the nineteenth centuries. Volume includes countries of Latin America and the Caribbean.

South American Handbook
ASU REF F1401.S71
This annual travel guide provides current information about each country.

Statistical Yearbook for Latin America and the Caribbean
ASU REF  HA751.A58

Selected Magazines and Journals

Américas
The Américas
Bulletin of Latin American Research
Economía
Hispanic American Historical Review
Historia Mexicana
Hopscotch
Journal of Interamerican Studies and World Affairs
Journal of Latin American Studies
Latin American Music Review
Latin American Perspectives
Latin American Politics & Society
Latin American Research Review
Luso-Brazilian Review
Mexican Studies
NACLA Report on the Americas
Nepantla: Views from the South
South Eastern Latin Americanist
Studies in Latin American Popular Culture

 

Subject Specific Databases

See Economics
See Geography
See History
See Literature
See Women's Studies

 

Web Sites

Internet Resources for Latin America
http://lib.nmsu.edu/subject/bord/laguia/
This is probably the most extensive site available on the Internet for scholarly and indigenous information about Latin America.

Latin American Site at University of Texas (LANIC)
http://lanic.utexas.edu
This web site provides links to various types of information on Latin American Countries, including local news and other publications. Direct links to electronic discussion groups (LISTSERVS) for posing questions to experts. Select JOINT PROJECTS AND HOSTED DATABASES from the first screen for additional valuable data.

Organization of American States
http://www.oas.org
Forum in the hemisphere for political, economic, and social dialog.

Political Database of the Americas
http://www.georgetown.edu/pdba/
The main objective of this database project from Geogetown University "is the development of a comprehensive source of documentary and statistical political information accessible throughout the Hemisphere and world via the World Wide Web."

State Department
http://www.state.gov
Under REGIONS find the Bureau of Inter-American Affairs. Under SERVICES find Travel Warnings for descriptions of hot spots.

ASU Department Links

Latin American Studies
"Under the umbrella of the Department of Interdisciplinary Studies, LAS provides students an opportunity to design course programs around their interests in Latin America, while offering them an opportunity to balance a broadly based knowledge of Latin America with a choice of concentrations in other traditional disciplines."

 

218 College Street | P.O. Box 32026 | Boone, NC 28608-2026 Tel: (828) 262-2186
Disclaimer
Last update of this page April 13, 2007 11:56 am