Research Guide for Literature & Literary Criticism
-
Databases & Articles
-
Reference Sources
-
Subject Headings
-
Web Sites
-
ASU Department Links
- Content Editor Elizabeth Williams willamsem@appstate.edu Reference Librarian
- Content Updated August 2007
Databases & Articles (opens in a new window)
Reference Sources
Benet's Readers Encyclopedia
ASU REFERENCE PN41 .B4 1996
Includes information for the general reader on writers, literary movements, works, historical perspectives, etc.
Encyclopedia of Southern Literature
ASU REFERENCE PS261 .S515 1997
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of African American Literature
ASU REFERENCE
PS153.N5 G73 2005
Literature and Its Times
ASU REFERENCE PN50 .L574 1997
Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature
ASU REFERENCE PN41 .M42 1995
Covering the literatures of the world. Includes information on literary characters, plot summaries, terminology, etc.
Oxford Companion to American Literature
ASU REFERENCE PS21 .H3 1995
Alphabetical arrangement. Short summaries of biographical information, important works, definitions, and literary movements.
Oxford Companion to English Literature
ASU REFERENCE PR19 .D73 2000
Biographies and bibliographic references.
The World Atlas of Language Structures
ASU REFERENCE P143 .W67
Geographical distribution of language features with full-color world and
regional maps.
World Literature in the 20th Century
ASU REFERENCE PN771 .E5 1999
Includes information on individual writers, literary movements, and national literatures.
Subject Headings
Books and other materials in the collections of ASU and the other members of the Western North Carolina Library Network (WNCLN) are listed in the Library Catalog . Selected literature subject headings:
American Fiction 20th Century
American Literature African American Authors
American Literature Hispanic American authors
American Literature History and Criticism
American Prose Literature
Art and Literature
Children's Literature
Criticism
Drama
Drama 20th Century History And Criticism
English Language
Folklore
Literature
Literature and History
Literature and Society
Literature History and Criticism
Science Fiction
Shakespeare William 1564 1616 Criticism And Interpretation
Short stories, American History and criticism
Southern States in Literature
Spanish American Literature
Web Sites
Chaucer: An Annotated Guide to Online Resources
http://geoffreychaucer.org/
Bibliographies, texts, images, and other links for research into Chaucer's work and language. Includes teaching guides and suggestions.
Documenting the American South
http://docsouth.unc.edu/
Collection of primary sources on Southern history, literature and culture from the colonial period through the first decades of the 20th century.
Edufind.com
http://www.edufind.com/
Guide to the use of the English language.
I Remain: A Digital Archive of Letters, Manuscripts, and Ephemera
http://digital.lib.lehigh.edu/remain/
Collection spanning five centuries. Images of letters and manuscripts written by writers, poets, scientists and statesmen.
The Labyrinth
http://www8.georgetown.edu/departments/medieval/labyrinth/labyrinth-home.html
Resources for medieval studies from Georgetown University.
Literary Resources on the Net
http://andromeda.rutgers.edu/~jlynch/Lit/
Links to sites for researchers with pages for authors, movements and collections of electronic literary texts.
Mr. William Shakespeare and the Internet
http://shakespeare.palomar.edu/
Guide to Shakespearean resources, scholarly and otherwise.
The On-Line Books Page
http://digital.library.upenn.edu/books/
Full-text of over 14,000 books, with links to other literary sites such as prize winners, banned books and women writers.
Project Bartleby
http://www.bartleby.com/
Full text archive of major literary works.
Twentieth-century Poetry in English
http://www.lit.kobe-u.ac.jp/~hishika/20c_poet.htm
Excellent page for research or pleasure.
Voice of the Shuttle
http://vos.ucsb.edu/
See English Literature Page.
Wired for Books
http://wiredforbooks.org/
"Wired for Books brings literature alive with audio, video, and old-fashioned text of modern and classic stories, plays, poems, essays, and author interviews."
ASU Department Links
Department of English
http://www.english.appstate.edu/
Department of Foreign Languages and Literatures
http://www.fll.appstate.edu/
