Research Guide for Music & Musicians
-
Databases & Articles
-
Reference Sources
-
Subject Headings
-
Erneston Music Library
-
Web Sites
-
ASU Department Links
-
Content Editor Elizabeth Williams willamsem@appstate.edu Reference Librarian
- Content Updated August 2007
Databases & Articles (opens in a new window)
Reference Sources
The American Musical Theatre Song Encyclopedia
ASU MUSIC REF ML102 .M88 H59 1995
Bibliographical references and an index for musicals and popular music.
Contemporary Musicians
ASU REFERENCE ML385 .C615 2006
Periodical, issued twice a year. Includes biographies and illustrations. Cumulative index.
Definitive Country: The Ultimate Encyclopedia of Country Music and Its Performers ASU APP COLL STACKS
ML102 C7 M33 1995
Bibliographical references and discographies.
Encyclopedia of Pop, Rock and Soul
ASU MUSIC REF
ML102 P66 S8 1975
Bio-bibliographies, bibliographical references, illustrations, and dictionaries.
The Encyclopedia of Popular Music
ASU MUSIC REF ML102 .P66 G84 1998
Formerly the Guinness Encyclopedia of Popular Music, this encyclopedia covers a range of musical forms that are not fully incorporated into other reference sources. Includes bibliography and index.
Encyclopedia of the Blues
ASU MUSIC REF
ML102.B6 E53 2006
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music
ASU MUSIC REF ML100 .G16 1998
The world's music, general perspectives and reference tools. Includes bibliographical references, discographies, and indexes.
The International Cyclopedia of Music and Musicians
ASU REF ML100 .I57 1985
Dictionary with bio-bibliographies.
New Grove Dictionary of American Music
ASU MUSIC REF & ASU REFERENCE ML101 .U6 N48 1986
Includes bio-bibliographies.
New Grove Dictionary of Jazz
ASU MUSIC REF ML102 J3 N48 2002
Includes discographies and bio-bibliographies.
New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians
ASU MUSIC REF ML100 .N48 2000
The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians is the most comprehensive scholarly encyclopedia of music in English. Coverage of music of all times and places.
Subject Headings
Books and other materials in the collections of ASU and the other members of the Western North Carolina Library Network (WNCLN) are listed in the Library catalog. Many Titles are listed under the subjects "Music” or “Music theory" or under the name of a specific time period or place or ethnic group followed by the subheading, such as “Music – 19th century, or "Music - Appalachian Region.” Sometimes the book will be listed only under the narrow subject it covers, such as “choral music” or "folk music,” so try a variety of subject approaches, as illustrated in the examples below.
- Music - Discography
- Music - History and Criticism
- Bluegrass Music
- Composition (Music)
- Folk Music
- Jazz
- Jazz 1951 1960
- Motion picture music
- Music and Technology
- Rock Music 1961 1970
- Symbolism in Music
- Vocal Music
- World Music
Web Sites
AMG's All Music Guide
http://allmusic.com
From the publishers of the standard reference, All Music Guide, this site contains ratings and reviews of more than 400,000 record albums. Search by artist, album, song, style, or label.
ASU Music Library Home Page
http://www.library.appstate.edu/music/
Links to Research Guides for Music Topics, information about the Music Library, and pages by Dr. Gary Boye, Music Librarian.
Andanta
http://www.andante.com/reference/index.cfm
The New York Times calls this the "gold standard" of classical music web sites.
DW3: Classical Music Resources
http://www.lib.duke.edu/dw3/index.php
One of the most current lists of Web resources in classical music; from Duke University.
Ethnomusicology, Folk Music, and World Music
http://www.lib.washington.edu/music/world.html
"A collection of links to Web resources about the study of folk and primitive music arranged by categories such as organizations, bibliography, recordings, and geographical region or ethnic group."
Music Library Research Guides
http://www.library.appstate.edu/music/guides/index.html
Research guides to instruments, vocal music, popular music, world music, and more.
Worldwide Internet Music Resources
http://www.music.indiana.edu/music_resources/
Another great source for music links; from Indiana University.
ASU Department Links
Hayes School of Music
http://www.music.appstate.edu/
