Text Only | Comments/Suggestion | View Your Record | Search Site | Appalnet Appalachian State University

Research Guide for News Sources


Local and Regional Newspapers

America's Newspapers: North Carolina
Access is restricted to students, faculty, and staff. Access to 16 North Carolina Papers.

The Appalachian
http://www.theapp.appstate.edu/
Appalachian State University's student newspaper.

Appalachian State University Scene
http://www.appstate.edu/www_docs/news/scene/
Appalachian State University Faculty/Staff newsletter.

Belk Library's Microform Newspaper Collection
http://www.library.appstate.edu/collections/microforms/newspapers.html

High Country Press
http://www.highcountrypress.com/
Newspaper covering northwest North Carolina mountain communities.

The Mountain Times
http://www.mountaintimes.com/
Weekly paper covering Boone and the "High Country".

Watauga Democrat
http://www.wataugademocrat.com/
Boone's tri-weekly newspaper.


Historical Newspapers

America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1922
Access is restricted to students, faculty, and staff

Belk Library's Microform Newspaper Collection
http://www.library.appstate.edu/collections/microforms/newspapers.html

British Newspapers, 1600-1900
Access is restricted to students, faculty, and staff

Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980
Access is restricted to students, faculty, and staff

The New York Time Historical
Access is restricted to students, faculty, and staff

19th Century U.S. Newspapers
Access is restricted to students, faculty, and staff

ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Access is restricted to students, faculty, and staff

The Times Digital Archive, 1785-1985 (London)
Access is restricted to students, faculty, and staff


Newspaper Databases

America's Newspapers: North Carolina
Access is restricted to students, faculty, and staff
Access to 16 North Carolina Papers.

Campus Research
Access is restricted to students, faculty, and staff
Provides access to a comprehensive collection of regional, national, and international news.

Chronicle of Higher Education
Access is restricted to students, faculty, and staff
Primary source of news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators.

Ethnic NewsWatch
Access is restricted to students, faculty, and staff
Provides full text access to 200 newspapers, magazines, and journals of the minority and ethnic press.

Financial Times
Access is restricted to students, faculty, and staff
European financial newspaper known for its in-depth reporting on European company and economic news.

Lexis Nexis Academic
Access is restricted to students, faculty, and staff
Provides access to thousands of regional, national, international newspapers, and other news sources.

Newspaper Source
Access is restricted to students, faculty, and staff
Provides selected full text for 140 U.S. and international newspapers

New York Times
Access is restricted to students, faculty, and staff

ProQuest Newspapers
Access is restricted to students, faculty, and staff
Provides full text coverage of the Christian Science Monitor, Financial Times, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and the Washington Post.

Wall Street Journal
Access is restricted to students, faculty, and staff

Reference Sources

Bowker's News Media Directory
ASU REFERENCE Z6951 .W6 (2006)

Gale Directory Library
Access is restricted to students, faculty, and staff.

Gale Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media
ASU READY REF Z6951 .A97 (2005)

The Serials Directory
Access is restricted to students, faculty, and staff.

Web Sites for News Sources

ABYZ News Link
http://www.abyznewslinks.com/
Links to more than 16,600 newspapers and other news sources from around the world.

Common Dreams NewsCenter
http://www.commondreams.org/
"News for the Progressive community" with links to newspapers, news services, columnists, radio and televisions programs.

Daypop
http://www.daypop.com/
Search over 50,000 news sites, weblogs and RSS feeds for the latest news.

Google News
http://news.google.com/
News stories from over 4,500 sources.

News and Newspapers Online
http://library.uncg.edu/news/
News and Newspapers Online lists hundreds of news sites that represent all continents, focusing on free sites that provide current, general interest, full-text news.

News Voyager
http://www.newspaperlinks.com/home.cfm
Newspaper Association of America's gateway to the home pages of newspapers across the country as well as to other related media organizations' Internet sites including business papers and alternative presses.

World News Network
http://www.wn.com/
Stories from hundreds of news sources from around the world.

Yahoo News
http://news.yahoo.com/

 

ASU Links

Office of Public Affairs
http://www.news.appstate.edu/

 

Text Only | Comments/Suggestion | Disclaimer
Last update of this page June 14, 2007 1:50 pm