Research Guide for North Carolina
-
General
-
Agriculture
-
Business
-
Crime & Law
-
Education
-
Environment
-
Government
-
Health
-
History
-
Land Area
-
News
- Content Editor
Virginia C. Branch
branchvc@appstate.edu
Reference Librarian
828-262-4966
- Content Updated
September 2006
General
County and City Databooks
http://www.census.gov/statab/www/ccdb.html
A wide variety of demographic, social and economic variables for counties, cities, places and states.
North
Carolina County Profiles
http://cmedis.commerce.state.nc.us/countyprofiles/default.cfm
Demographic data on population, economics, education, housing, income,
and manufacturing.
State and County QuickFacts, North Carolina
http://quickfacts.census.gov/qfd/states/37000.html
Facts about the people, businesses and geography of each county in
NC.
State and Local Government on the Net
A directory of state, county, and city government websites.
USA Counties
http://censtats.census.gov/usa/usa.shtml
Information on age, agriculture, ancestry, banking, building permits, business patterns, crime, earnings, education, elections, government, health, households, housing, income, labor force and employment, manufactures, population, poverty, retail trade, services industries, social
programs, veterans, vital statistics and wholesale trade. 1999.
Historical Census Browser
http://fisher.lib.virginia.edu/collections/stats/histcensus/
Data on the people and economy of each state and county in the United
States. 1790-1960.
Agriculture
NC Agricultural Statistics-County Estimates
http://www.ncagr.com/stats/latest.htm
Statistics and estimates on county crops, livestock, economics and environment. 1999 & 2000.
Summary of Commodities by County
http://www.agr.state.nc.us/stats/cntysumm/
The number and value of farms, type and number of crops and livestock raised and cash receipts from farming for each
NC county. 1997-1999.
Business, Economics & Employment
County Business Patterns
http://www.census.gov/epcd/cbp/view/cbpview.html
County, state, and national level business data including number of establishments, payroll, number of employees and number of establishments by size class for 2 digit SIC industry groupings.
Economic Data --State and Local Data
http://www.ncesc.com/
Civilian labor force estimates, industry employment and wages in NC; NC's largest employers reported by county.
Regional Economic Information System
http://bea.gov/bea/regional/data.htm
Estimates of personal income and per capita personal income for NC counties.
Crime, Corrections & Law
Crime in North Carolina
http://sbi2.jus.state.nc.us/crp/public/Default.htm
Crime statistics for NC as part of the North Carolina Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) Program.
North Carolina Courts Directory
http://www.aoc.state.nc.us/www/copyright/aoc/00-01cd.pdf
North Carolina Sheriffs' Association Directory
http://www.ncsheriffs.org/ncmap.htm
Statistical Abstract Query (North Carolina Department of Correction)
http://www.doc.state.nc.us/rap/rapweb/web/reportgen.htm
A database for creating relatively complex reports using NC prison, probation and parole information by county, crime category, race, gender and age group.
Education
North Carolina Public Schools Reports & Statistics
http://www.dpi.state.nc.us/data/reports/
Reports on all aspects of elementary and secondary school in NC including student testing and program and testing evaluation and analysis.
North Carolina Statistical Profile
http://www.ncpublicschools.org/fbs/resources/data/
An extensive collection of statistical information about NC's elementary and secondary schools.
School District Profiles
ht tp://nces.ed.gov/surveys/sdds/main1.asp
An electronic library containing social, financial and administrative data for each of the 15,274 school districts in the United States.
The University of North Carolina System
http://www.northcarolina.edu/
Home page of the 16-campus University of North Carolina System.
Environment
County Health Databook
http://www.schs.state.nc.us/SCHS/healthstats/databook/
Pollutant emissions for listed counties.
EPA Air Data
http://www.epa.gov/agweb/
Access to maps and charts of air pollution information which can often be limited to state and then county.
Envirofacts
http://www.epa.gov/enviro/html/qmr.html
Includes information on water, hazardous waste, air, chemicals and toxic release. Some links searchable by county. Contains a mapping application which can also be used to locate county information.
Environmental Statistics - Agriculture
http://www.ncagr.com/stats/otherept.htm
Fertilizer, chemical and restricted pesticide usage on NC farms.
North Carolina Department of Environment and Natural Resources
http://www.enr.state.nc.us/
Reports, forecasts and advisories on NC environmental issues. Some sections are searchable by county.
Government, Taxes & Elections
Budget and Tax Survey-1994-95 through Current
http://www.ncacc.org/budtax.htm
Financial information on county budgeted expenditures and tax resources, including in-depth information on school appropriations.
County Election Results
http://www.ncacc.org/election.html
Includes county election results and reports on the political, racial and gender makeup of each county board of commissioners.
County Tax Rate Surveys-1994-95 through Current
http://www.ncacc.org/taxrate.htm
Shows newly adopted tax rates by county. To help counties compare their rates to those of similar counties, the effective tax rate is also presented.
Directory of State and County Officials
http://www.secretary.state.nc.us/pubsweb/direct.aspx
Historical Election Results
http://www.app.sboe.state.nc.us/voterweb/elections.htm
Results from NC's 1992, 1996, 1998 and 2000 elections.
North Carolina General Assembly
http://www.ncleg.net/homePage.pl
North Carolina House
http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/House/House.html
Shows NC House representation by county name.
North Carolina Senate
hhttp://www.ncga.state.nc.us/Senate/Senate.html
Gives NC Senate representation by county name.
North Carolina State Board of Elections
http://www.app.sboe.state.nc.us/
Gives the qualifications and deadlines for registering in NC and provides voter registration statistics by county and precinct.
Who Represents Me?
http://www.ncleg.net/GIS/Representation/Who_Represents_Me/Who_Represents_Me.html
Select a NC county on a map and find out who represents the area.
Health
Cancer Incidence in North Carolina
http://www.schs.state.nc.us/SCHS/healthstats/CCR/incidence/
A database to create tables showing cancer cases deaths and age and race-specific cancer incidence by county of residence.
Cancer Profiles, April 2001
http://www.schs.state.nc.us/SCHS/healthstats/CCR/cp2001/
Gives cancer profiles for each county in NC.
County Health Data Book
http://www.schs.state.nc.us/SCHS/healthstats/databook/
Vital statistics for each county including sections on health resources and programs, education, community health, and environmental health.
Detailed Mortality Statistics
http://www.schs.state.nc.us/SCHS/healthstats/deaths/dms/dms-pre.html
Supplements North Carolina Vital Statistics, Leading Causes of Death and
provides state, region and county 1-year and 5-year counts and rates for all deaths, infant deaths and 25 selected causes of death.
Local Health Department Staffing and Services Summary - 2003
http://www.schs.state.nc.us/SCHS/pdf/LHDStaffSum.pdf
A survey of local NC health department facilities, staffing, and services.
North Carolina Center for Health Statistics
http://www.schs.state.nc.us/SCHS/healthstats/
Vital statistics for all counties in NC along with cancer incidence,
mortality rates and projections.
North Carolina Health Atlas
http://www.schs.state.nc.us/SCHS/healthstats/healthatlas.html
Maps of the leading causes of death by county for 1994-1998.
North Carolina Vital Statistics
http://www2.irss.unc.edu/ncvital/
NC vital statistics by county, city or region.
History
County Government: Historical Perspective
http://statelibrary.dcr.state.nc.us/NC/CNTYOUT/PRECOUNT.HTM
From the North Carolina Encyclopedia developed by the State Library of North Carolina to provide an overview of the people, the government, the history, and the resources of NC.
County Histories
http://statelibrary.dcr.state.nc.us/NC/CNTYOUT/CTYCOVER.HTM
From the North Carolina Encyclopedia developed by the State Library of North Carolina to provide an overview of the people, the government, the history, and the resources of NC.
North Carolina County Formation
http://www.rootsweb.com/~nccatawb/countyfm.htm
A series of maps provided by Catawba County showing the changing county structure in NC since the early 1700s.
Land Area & Maps
Land Area/Population Density for States, Counties, and Metropolitan Areashttp://www.census.gov/population/www/censusdata/density.html
Lists the population, square kilometers, square miles, population per square
kilometers and population per square miles for each county in the United States.
North Carolina OneMap
http://gisdata.usgs.net/website/NC_OneMap/viewer.asp
Provides access to an interactive map viewer.
News Articles
Academic Search Premier , 1975-
Provides full text for over 4,600 magazines and journals, and citations with abstracts for nearly 8,200 titles. Over 3,600 titles are peer-reviewed, and searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 titles.
America's Newspapers , Full Text
Provides full text coverage of 14 North Carolina papers.
LexisNexis Academic , 1990's-
LexisNexis Academic provides full text access to current and back issues of major and regional news sources from the U.S. and around the world.
News and Newspapers Online
http://library.uncg.edu/news/
Lists hundreds of news sites that represent all continents, focusing on free sites that provide current, general interest, full-text news.
Newspaper Source , 1995-
Provides abstracts and indexing for the New York Times , Wall Street Journal (Eastern and Western editions), Christian Science Monitor , USA Today , Los Angeles Times , and the Washington Post . Selected full text is available for over 105 Knight-Ridder papers, including the Richmond Times, and the Atlanta Journal and Constitution.
North Carolina Community Newspapers
http://www.lib.duke.edu/reference/subjects/ncnews.htm
Links to over 130 North Carolina newspapers.
