Text Only | Comments/Suggestions | View Your Record | Search Site | Appalnet Appalachian State University

Research Guide for Psychology


Databases & Articles (opens in a new window)


Reference Sources

Comprehensive Clinical Psychology ASU REF RC467 .C597  
Beginning with the theory and history of the field, this 11-volume set provides information on the current status of training, professional standards, and practices of clinical psychology. Includes a name and subject index.

Corsini encyclopedia of psychology and behavioral science
ASU REF BF31 .E52
This eight volume set has over 2,500 entries to the various fields of psychology and to areas of concern within each field. Each entry includes cross-references and a bibliography for further research.

Graduate study in psychology
ASU REF BF 77 .G73
A listing of accredited psychology programs in the United States and Canada with information on each program and application procedures and requirements.

International encyclopedia of psychiatry, psychology, psychoanalysis & neurology
ASU REF RC334 .I57
A source of comprehensive and authoritative information on most areas of psychology and related fields. Most articles are lengthy discussions of broad issues in which theory, historical development, and professional opinion are presented. Entries for individuals focus on biographical information. Contains name and subject indexes.

Survey of social science: Psychology series
ASU REF BF31 .S79
This series is designed to provide the reader with insight into topics that are often accessible only to academicians in the field. Each article, averaging six pages in length, is divided into an overview, application, and context, and is followed by a bibliography. Eighteen major fields of psychology are covered.


Selected Magazines and Journals

The following selected journal titles are available either from the Western North Carolina Library Network (WNCLN) or available in full text from the databases listed. Journals at ASU are located in Periodicals on the bottom floor of the library. To locate complete journal holdings for the network please check the Library Catalog . Journals held at Western Carolina University or University of North Carolina at Asheville can be obtained via ABC Express . Other journals can be obtained through Interlibrary Loan .

Acta Psychologica
American Imago: Studies in Psychoanalysis and Culture
American Journal of Community Psychology
American Journal of Psychology
Annual Review of Psychology
Behaviour Research and Therapy
British Journal of Psychology
Child Abuse and Neglect
Cognition
The Counseling Psychologist
Current Psychology
Infant Behavior & Development
Journal of Abnormal Child Psychology
Journal of Abnormal Psychology
Journal of Cross-Cultural Psychology
Journal of General Psychology
Journal of Genetic Psychology
Journal of Health and Social Behavi
or
Journal of Humanistic Psychology
Journal of Psychology
Journal of Social Psychology
Mind
Philosophy, Psychiatry, and Psychology
Psychological Research
School Psychology Review


Web Sites

American Psychological Association
http://www.apa.org/
A wealth of information from the APA for practicing psychologists, the public, and students.

Encyclopedia of Psychology http://www.psychology.org/
Not an encyclopedia but links to hundreds of psychology-related websites, including careers, environment behavior, relationships, modern behavior analysis, organizations, people, history, population, publications, services, and more.

National Institute for Mental Health
http://www.nimh.nih.gov/
Focuses on mental health: depression, anxiety disorders, alzheimer's disease, attention deficit hyperactivity disorder, schizophrenia, as well as other links to NIMH programs.

Psychology - Online Resource Central
http://www.psych-central.com/
Hundreds of links to psychological related sites. Maintained by an Associate Professor of Psychology.

Psychology Resources - Internet Public Library
http://www.ipl.org/div/subject/browse/soc30.00.00/
Collection of links to excellent psychology resources.

World Lecture Hall - Psychology
http://web.austin.utexas.edu/wlh/browse.cfm
Contains links to pages created by faculty worldwide who are using the Web to deliver class materials.


Psychological Testing (opens in a new window)




ASU Department Links

Department of Psychology
http://www.acs.appstate.edu/dept/psych/
Provides undergraduate and graduate information, a faculty directory, and local scholarship information.

218 College Street | P.O. Box 32026 | Boone, NC 28608-2026 Tel: (828) 262-2186
Disclaimer
Last update of this page April 13, 2007 11:56 am