Text Only | Comments/Suggestions | View Your Record | Search Site | Appalnet Appalachian State University

Research Guide for Public Opinion


 

Databases & Articles (opens in a new window)

 

Reference Sources

American generations : who they are, how they live, what they think / by Susan  Mitchell 
ASU MAIN STACKS HC110.C6 M545 2003

American Social Attitudes Data Sourcebook,1947-1978
ASU MAIN STACKLS HN65 .A6819
Cambridge, Mass. : Harvard University Press, 1980

Britannica Online
Available on & off campus
Includes more than 72,000 encyclopedia articles with photographs, drawings, full motion video and audio clips, and more than 130,000 reviewed Web sites.

Dictionary of polling : the language of contemporary opinion research
ASU MAIN STACKS HM261 .Y684

Public opinion and polling around the world : a historical encyclopedia / John G. Geer, edit
ASU REFERENCE HM1236 .P83 2004

Selected Magazines and Journals

American Enterprise
Gallup Poll Tuesday Briefing
The Journal of Consumer Research
NNSP Newsletter
Public Opinion Quarterly

Public Opinion Polls

America at the polls
ASU REFERENCE JK1967 .A44
Storrs, CT : Roper Center, University of Connecticut,
Databook of election surveys, votes and analysis.

American Attitudes : who thinks what about the issues that shape our lives
ASU MAIN STACKS HN90.P8 M58
Ithaca, N.Y. : New Strategist Publications,

An American Profile -- Opinions and Behavior, 1972-1989
ASU MAIN STACKS HM261 .W65 1990
Detroit : Gale Research,
Selected data from 1972-1989 General Social Survey (GSS) of the University of Chicago National Opinion Research Center (NORC)

Gallup Brain
The Gallup Brain contains all Gallup Poll data past and present. It is an excellent source of data for students, faculty, and anyone who wants to be current on important social issues.

Gallup Organization
http://www.gallup.com
Site search available for articles and survey results.

The Gallup Poll Monthly
 ASU MAIN STACKS HM261 .A1 G34
 Princeton, N.J. : The Gallup Poll, 1989-2001

The Gallup Poll: public opinion, 1935-1971
ASU MAIN STACKS HN90.P8 G3

PollingReport.com
http://www.pollingreport.com/
A bi-monthly "independent survey of trends affecting elections, government, and business." This Web includes polls from Gallup, Harris, Yankelovich, Princeton Survey Research Associates, network news polls, and more.

Public Agenda Online
http://www.publicagenda.org/
"Nonpartisan, nonprofit public opinion research"  Many reports are free; others have a small charge, frequently $10. The coverage is on many social issues.

 

Web Sites

ICPSR - The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research
Please contact John Boyd for more information.
ICPSR provides access to the world's largest archive of computer-based research and instructional data for the social sciences.Over 300 institutions world-wide are members of ICPSR, including Appalachian State.

Odum Institute for Research in Social Science, University of North Carolina
http://www.irss.unc.edu
"The Institute maintains the country's third-largest archive of computer-readable social science data....The Institute services are available to researchers elsewhere, and to the general public, on a cost-recovery basis." Public Opinion Poll Question Database

The Pew Research Center for the People and the Press
http://people-press.org

Politics1
http://www.politics1.com/
Online guide to American Politics.

Roper Center
http://www.ropercenter.uconn.edu/
Site search available for citations and abstracts of studies, 1935-

 

ASU Department Links

Department of Economics
http://www.business.appstate.edu/departments/economics/

Department of Political Science/Criminal Justice
http://www.acs.appstate.edu/dept/ps-cj/

Department of Sociology and Social Work
http://www.soc.appstate.edu/
Information on the Sociology, Social Work, and Gerontology programs at Appalachian State University.

 

218 College Street | P.O. Box 32026 | Boone, NC 28608-2026 Tel: (828) 262-2186
Disclaimer
Last update of this page May 13, 2008 10:34 am