Research Guide for Social Work
-
Databases & Articles
-
Reference Sources
-
Selected Magazines and Journals
-
Statistical Sources
-
Web Sites
-
ASU Department Links
-
Content Editor
Virginia C. Branch
branchvc@appstate.edu
Reference Librarian
Rm 146 Belk Library & Information Commons
828-262-4966
-
Content Updated
11 Feb. 2008
Databases & Articles (opens in a new window)
Reference Sources
Careers in Social WorkASU REF 10.5.G55 2001
Not only includes where to go to find a job and how to evaluate a job but, also deals with job applications, licenses, credentials, salaries and benefits.
Encyclopedia of Disability and Rehabilitation
ASU REF HV1568.E53 1995
Provides rehabilitation information on a vast range of disabilities. Includes lists of organizations and foundations as resources and bibliographies for further information.
Encyclopedia of Drugs, Alcohol & Addictive Behavior
ASU REF HV5804.E53 2000
Comprehensive four-volume set. Includes statistical tables and bibliographies.
International Encyclopedia of Marriage and the Family
ASU REF HQ9.E52 1995
Reports on the state of family and marriage in the 1990s and on the cultural, psychological, and societal forces that influence them.
Encyclopedia of Social Work
ASU MAIN STACKS HV35.S6
Provides comprehensive coverage of the social work profession and all related issues.
International Handbook on Social Work Education
ASU REF HV11. I565 1995
Provides an overview of social work education around the world.
Social Work Dictionary
ASU REF HV12.B37 1999
Includes nearly 8,000 terms used in social work administration, research, policy development and planning, community organization, and clinical theory and practice.
Summary Information on Master of Social Work Programs
ASU REF HV11.C772a
Selected Magazines and Journals
The following selected journal titles are available either from the Western North Carolina Library Network (WNCLN) or available in full text from the databases listed. Journals at ASU are located in Periodicals on the bottom floor of the library. To locate complete journal holdings for the network please check the Library Catalog. Journals held at Western Carolina University or University of North Carolina at Asheville can be obtained via ABC Express. Other journals can be obtained through Interlibrary Loan.
Affilia
American Journal of Family Therapy
Arete
Child and Adolescent Social Work Journal
Children and Youth Services Review
Clinical Social Work Journal
Families in Society: the Journal of Contemporary Human Services
International Social Work
Journal of Social Work Education
Research on Social Work Practice
Social Forces
Social Service Review
Social Work
Social Work Research
Sociological Quarterly
Sociological Review
Youth & Society
Statistical Sources
Current Population Surveyhttp://www.bls.census.gov/cps/
The Current Population Survey (CPS) is a monthly survey of about 50,000 households conducted by the Bureau of the Census for the Bureau of Labor Statistics.
ICPSR - The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research
Available to Faculty and Graduate Students
Please contact John Boyd or Lisa Abbott for information. ICPSR provides access to the world's largest archive of computer-based research and instructional data for the social sciences. Over 300 institutions world-wide are members of ICPSR, including ASU.
Social Science Data Archives
http://data.lib.uci.edu/
Clickable map to archives in United States and Canada, with links to European and other archives around the world.
Social Work Almanac
ASU MAIN STACKS HV90.G53 1995
Provides statistical data on population, children, crime and corrections, education, health and mortality, mental health, older adults, and the social work profession.
Statistical (Lexis Nexis)
Statistical Universe provides indexing and abstracts of statistics compiled by the U.S. Government. Includes thousands of full text sources covering crime, demographics, economics, and health statistics.
Statistical Handbook on the American Family
ASU REF HQ536.S727 1999
All tables, figures, and Illustrations present the latest data available on the American family.
Statistics on Alcohol, Drug, and Tobacco Use
ASU REF HV5292.S73 1996
Presents statistics on alcohol, illegal drug, and tobacco use in the United States.
Web Sites
Council on Social Work Education
http://www.cswe.org/
"Includes information about the Council. Highlights programs and services offered, including a teacher registry, scholarships, current facts, a publications list and a staff directory. Links to other social work associations and related sites."
International Federation of Social Workers
http://www.ifsw.org/
Based in Oslo, Norway, this site includes information on IFSW activities, partnerships, publications, and a membership directory. Links to policy papers and information on upcoming events.
National Association of Social Workers (NASW)
http://www.naswdc.org/
"Describes and discusses the activities of NASW. Includes membership information, code of ethics, social work practice, and NASW credentials. Offers links to sites of related interest."
Federal and State Adoption Law
http://www.law.cornell.edu/topics/adoption.html
"Provides an overview of adoption law and links to relevant federal and state statutes, judicial decisions, regulations, and other key Internet sources."
The New Social Worker Online
http://www.socialworker.com/
A "quarterly national magazine devoted to social work students and recent graduates." Provides tables of contents for the current issue and selected articles from back issues. Contains an online career center, current job listings, and author's guidelines.
Social Work and Social Services Jobs Online
http://gwbweb.wustl.edu/jobs/index.html
Provides job listings by location and by topic, employer services & online job submission, and career resources.
http://www.pscw.uva.nl/sociosite/TOPICS/index.html
Thousands of internet links to information and resources relevant for sociologists, from the University of Amsterdam.
ASU Department Links
Department of Sociology and Social Work
http://www.soc.appstate.edu/
Information on the Sociology, Social Work, and Gerontology programs at Appalachian State University.
