Text Only | Comments/Suggestions | View Your Record | Search Site | Appalnet Appalachian State University

Research Guide for Sociology


Databases & Articles (opens in a new window)


Reference Sources

Blackwell Dictionary of Sociology
REF HM425. J64
Short definitions of the "vocabulary of sociology." Each entry is followed by a list of one or two key resources.

Encyclopedia of Sociology
REF  HM425 .E5
A four-volume encyclopedia with lengthy entries on concepts, theories, and issues in the field. Entries are followed by bibliographies of key resources. Examples of entries include "Alienation," "Crime Deterrence," and "Social Change."


Selected Magazines and Journals

The following selected journal titles are available either from the Western North Carolina Library Network (WNCLN) or available in full text from the databases listed. Journals at ASU are located in Periodicals on the bottom floor of the library. To locate complete journal holdings for the network please check the Library Catalog. Journals held at Western Carolina University or University of North Carolina at Asheville can be obtained via ABC Express . Other journals can be obtained through Interlibrary Loan.

American Behavioral Scientist
American Journal of Sociology
American Sociological Review
Annual Review of Sociology
Contemporary Sociology
Feminist Studies
Gender, Place & Culture
Humanity & Society
Journal of American Culture
Journal of Educational Sociology
Journal of Health and Social Behavior
Sociological Perspectives
Sociological Quarterly
Sociological Review
Sociology of Education
Youth & Society


Statistical Sources

Current Population Survey http://www.bls.census.gov/cps/
The Current Population Survey (CPS) is a monthly survey of about 50,000 households conducted by the Bureau of the Census for the Bureau of Labor Statistics. Estimates obtained from the CPS include employment, unemployment, earnings, hours of work, and other indicators. They are available by a variety of demographic characteristics including age, sex, race, marital status, and educational attainment.

ICPSR - The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research
Available to Faculty and Graduate Students
Please contact John Boyd or Lisa Abbott for information.
ICPSR provides access to the world's largest archive of computer-based research and instructional data for the social sciences.Over 300 institutions world-wide are members of ICPSR, including ASU.

Social Indicators
http://www.un.org/Depts/unsd/social/index.html
Social indicators covering a wide range of  fields, including population, health, housing, education, literacy, and income are compiled by the Statistics Division, Department of Economic and Social Affairs of the United Nations Secretariat.

Social Science Data Archives
http://www.nsd.uib.no/Cessda/namer.html
Clickable map to archives in United States and Canada, with links to European and other archives around the world

Statistical (LexisNexis), (updated daily)
Statistical Universe provides indexing and abstracts of statistics compiled by the U.S. Government. Includes thousands of full text sources covering crime, demographics, economics, and health statistics.


Web Sites

American Sociological Association
http://www.asanet.org/
The American Sociological Association (ASA), founded in 1905, is a non-profit membership association dedicated
to advancing sociology as a scientific discipline and profession serving the public good.

Social Science Information Gateway (SOSIG)
Located within the Institute for Learning and Research Technology at the University of Bristol, the SOSIG is a database of web sites that focuses on the social science field and subfields. Each site has been cataloged and annotated.

The SocioLog
http://www.sociolog.com/
Comprehensive guide to sociology online, including links to sociology departments in the U.S.

SocioSite
http://www.pscw.uva.nl/sociosite/TOPICS/index.html
Thousands of internet links to information and resources relevant for sociologists, from the University of Amsterdam.

The Southern Sociological Association
http://www.MsState.Edu/Org/SSS/sss.html

World Lecture Hall - Sociology
http://wnt.cc.utexas.edu/%7Ewlh/browse/index.cfm
Contains links to pages created by faculty worldwide who are using the Web to deliver class materials.


ASU Department Links

Department of Sociology and Social Work http://www.soc.appstate.edu/

 

 

218 College Street | P.O. Box 32026 | Boone, NC 28608-2026 Tel: (828) 262-2186
Disclaimer
Last update of this page August 30, 2007 3:25 pm