Research Guide for Women's Studies
-
Databases & Articles
-
Reference Sources
-
Selected Magazines and Journals
-
Subject Headings
-
Web Sites
-
ASU Department Links
-
Content Editor: Elizabeth Williams
- Reference Librarian
willamsem@appstate.edu -
Content Updated:
August 2007
Databases & Articles (opens in a new window)
Reference Sources
(General and Subject Encyclopedias)
Encyclopedia
of American Social History
ASU REFERENCE HN57 E58 1993
Three volumes recording the American social history, the processes of social
change, and the construction of social identity.
International
Encyclopedia of Marriage and the Family
ASU REFERENCE HQ9 E52 2003 4 vols.
Basic reference source of materials for research and a directory to recent
literature on the topics of marriage and family.
Encyclopedia of Sociology
ASU REFERENCE HM 17 E5 2000
Five volume work with bibliographical references, illustrations, and an index.
Electronic
version available.
Encyclopedia
of Women's History in America
ASU REFERENCE HQ 1410 .C85 2000, 2nd ed.
More than 300 years of movements, breakthroughs, legislation, and notable women.
Women
in world history : a biographical encyclopedia
ASU REFERENCE
HQ1115
.W6 1999
Ten volumes.
Women's
Studies Encyclopedia
ASU REFERENCE HQ 1115 .W645 1999 3 vols.
Basic information about women from the feminist perspective, from all fields
and disciplines.
(Almanacs, Directories, Handbooks, etc.)
Reader's Guide to Women's Studies
ASU REFERENCE HQ 1180 .R43 1998
Guide to published works to date about women and gender.
Statistical
Handbook on Women in America
ASU MAIN STACKS HQ 1420 .T34 1996, 2nd ed.
Women's Almanac
ASU MAIN STACKS HQ 1101 .W66 2000
Biennial resource with timelines and women's history state by state.
Selected Magazines and Journals
The following selected journal titles are available either from the Western
North Carolina Library Network (WNCLN) or available in full text from the
databases listed. Journals at ASU are located in Periodicals on the bottom
floor of the library. To locate complete journal holdings for the network
please check the Library Catalog. Journals
held at Western Carolina University or University of North Carolina at Asheville
can be obtained via ABC
Express. Other journals can be obtained through Interlibrary
Loan
Selected Women's Studies Journals |
WNCLN Subscription |
Online Availability (Full Text) |
| Affilia | 1991- | Online version, 1999- |
| American Sociological Review | 1936- | JSTOR, 1936-2001 |
| American Journal of Sociology | 1895- | JSTOR, 1895-2000 Online version, 1997- |
| Contemporary Sociology | 1972- | JSTOR, 1972-2001 |
| Differences | 1994- | Project Muse, 1998- |
| Frontiers | 1977- | Project Muse, 2001- |
| Gender & society | 1987- | JSTOR, 1987-2000 |
| Herizons | ||
| Hypatia | 1993- | Project Muse, 1999- |
| Journal of Interdisciplinary History | 1970- | Project Muse, 1999- |
| Journal of Social History | 1972- | Project Muse, 1999- |
| Journal of Women's History | 1993- | Project Muse, 1999- |
| NWSA Journal | 1988- | Project Muse, 1994- |
| Off Our Backs | ||
| Postmodern Culture | 1990- | Project Muse, 1990- |
| Sex Roles | 1975- | |
| Women's Studies International Forum | 1982- | ScienceDirect, 1995- |
| Women's Rights Law Reporter | 1971- | LexisNexis Academic, 1994- |
| Yale Journal of Law and Feminism | LexisNexis Academic, 1995- |
Subject Headings
Books and other materials in the collections of ASU and the other members of the Western North Carolina Library Network (WNCLN) are listed in the Library Catalog. Many Titles are listed under the subjects "women's studies" or "women's rights." Sometimes the book will be listed only under the narrow subject it covers, such as "women - suffrage" or "working class women," so try a variety of subject approaches, as illustrated in the examples below. Consult the Library of Congress Subject Headings volumes, located in the Reference area, for additional subject headings.
- Woman (use Women)
- Women - cross cultural studies
- Women - legal status, laws
- Women authors - biography
- Women authors - Latin American
- Women artists
- Women weavers
- Aged women
- Women athletes
- Women air pilots
- Women weavers
- Social work with women
- Abused women
- Violence in women
- Women - mental health
- Women college students
- Women's periodicals, English
- Women's rights in literature
Web Sites
American
Women's History: A Research Guide
http://www.mtsu.edu/~kmiddlet/history/women.html
Provides citations to print and Internet sources and primary source
collections. Intuitive layout with suggestions for further research.
Documenting the American South
http://docsouth.unc.edu/
Documenting the American South (DAS) is a collection of primary
sources on Southern history, literature and culture from the colonial
period through the first decades of the 20th century.
Feminist Majority Foundation Online
http://www.feminist.org/
"The Feminist Majority Foundation views feminism as a global movement
dedicated to equality and seeks to eliminate discrimination of all kinds
-- sex, race, sexual orientation, age, religion, national origin, disability,
and marital status."
Feminist Theory Website
http://www.cddc.vt.edu/feminism/
The Feminist Theory Website provides research materials and information
for students, activists, and scholars interested in women's conditions
and struggles around the world.
IWPR: The Institute for Women's Policy
Research
http://www.iwpr.org/
Organization for debate on public policy issues of importance to
women and families.
Literary Resources
on the Net
http://andromeda.rutgers.edu/~jlynch/Lit/
A searchable "collection of [annotated] links to sites on the Internet
dealing especially with English and American literature, excluding most
single electronic texts.
National Women's Studies Association
http://www.nwsa.org/
"NWSA supports and promotes feminist/womanist teaching, learning,
research, and professional and community service at the pre-K through post-secondary
levels and serves."
Social Sciences Information Gateway
http://www.intute.ac.uk/socialsciences/lost.html
Annotated online database of high quality Internet resources. Coverage especially
strong for the United Kingdom and Europe.
Women's
Studies Archives and Collections in North Carolina
http://library.uncg.edu/depts/ref/bibs/womenarchives.html
An excellent resource created by the Women's Studies bibliography
at UNC-G.
Women's
Studies / Women's Issues Resource Sites
http://www.research.umbc.edu/~korenman/wmst/links.html
Selective, annotated listing of web sites with an emphasis on sites
of particular use to an academic women's studies program.
WomenWatch
http://www.un.org/womenwatch/
Gateway to UN information, resources, data, and organizations.
WSSLinks: Women and
Gender Studies Web Sites
http://libr.org/wss/wsslinks/index.html
ACRL's Women's Studies Section of women and gender studies links.
ASU Department Links
Women's Studies Program
http://www.womenstudies.appstate.edu/
The Women's Studies Program at Appalachian State University was founded
in 1976 -- making it the second oldest program in the state of North Carolina.
